Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I've never had fried green tomatoes before, so maybe I just didn't know what to expect. But I thought these were bland, and too tart, and too greasy. I only ate three slices and they made me feel a bit sick. Not terrible, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was a good recipe, but a bit bland. I added butter crackers to the saltines which added an extra flavor. Be generous with the salt & pepper as well. Anyone would likes tomatoes love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Try this breading to make jalapeno poppers if you like hot stuff... or even onion rings. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
My husband liked these. I added some oil in with the butter. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Good recipe. Didn't cook through because my slices were too thick. I'll know next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfaHulkNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Very yummy!...it has been years since I have had a recipe like this ! Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I had never had fried green tomatoes before but always wanted to try them. I bought 2 green tomatoes about a week ago and one stayed green and the other got red, but stayed firm. I used these 2 tomatoes to make this and they were both fantastic. I used Ritz instead of saltines just because I happened to have a sleeve at home. And I also cooked them in a mixture of butter and oil. I fried mine at the next notch above medium and it was a perfect tempurature. These were delicious and I will be using this recipe again. You could even make this to make winter tomatoes taste good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I gave this 4 stars cause there is no way that I could find to fry these in butter without the butter burning.I had to use Sunflower oil. I did use Ritz crackers instead of Saltines to add more flavor. I have to say that the recipe was a good one but the butter just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Fried in bacon grease in lieu of oil....PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Wonderful!! Made it twice this week and am looking forward to the next time. Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 121-130 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States