Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
These were good, but I would personally prefer a little more seasoning "flavor" in mine. They were a good, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I give these a 3 by themselves, a 4 dipped in ketchup, and a 5 in sandwiches. I think they'd be good dipped in salsa too, but I didn't have any on hand. My favorite is to layer them with sliced red tomatoes, cheese, jalapeno slices, and bread and grill it up. I'd make this again just for the sandwiches! I did make a few substitutions to the recipe - used panko instead of cracker crumbs, oil instead of butter, and added cayenne pepper, minced green onion, and Parmesan cheese to the flour mix. Probably sacrilegious to a Southerner! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
My mom loves fried green tomatoes and I made these for her birthday dinner. They were OK...but nothing near what my grandmother used to make! I doubt I would make them again with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I have always loved Fried green Tomatoes and think this recipie is OK. I combined ritz crackers with the flour and used oil vs butter. i think they were too peppery so i will cut that down next time I make them. I cut mine a little too thin and the coating over powered the tomatoes. I also double dipped. All in all they were good but i think I like the old fashion batter better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was the best if not better than local cafe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Was easy and turned out good, but don't eat more than 2 slices -- we both got tummy aches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
These turned out great. I also used cracker crumbs as a crust, and they tasted delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCedar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Okay, these are still cooking on the stove and we've already eaten all the ones that are cooked! They are DIVINE!! I'm from WA state and had never even seen a fried green tomato, had to try it out to use up all of our green tomatos. Followed the recipe except for added seasoning salt and a packet of onion soup mix to the flour. SO GOOD! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROXYJAS
Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I've never had fried green tomatoes before, so maybe I just didn't know what to expect. But I thought these were bland, and too tart, and too greasy. I only ate three slices and they made me feel a bit sick. Not terrible, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was a good recipe, but a bit bland. I added butter crackers to the saltines which added an extra flavor. Be generous with the salt & pepper as well. Anyone would likes tomatoes love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States