Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
DELICIOUS! Wasn't sure I would like these from the first bite, but ended up eating 3! I scaled the recipe to 3, used 2 small to medium sized tomatoes (the first ones from my garden this year)! I did not have saltine crackers so I used multi-grain club crackers. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are yummy! You could use red tomatoes as long as they are very firm if you can't find green. I would suggest using small amounts of butter for each batch so the first batch doesn't soak up all the butter. These are yummy and I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
These were good, but I would personally prefer a little more seasoning "flavor" in mine. They were a good, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I give these a 3 by themselves, a 4 dipped in ketchup, and a 5 in sandwiches. I think they'd be good dipped in salsa too, but I didn't have any on hand. My favorite is to layer them with sliced red tomatoes, cheese, jalapeno slices, and bread and grill it up. I'd make this again just for the sandwiches! I did make a few substitutions to the recipe - used panko instead of cracker crumbs, oil instead of butter, and added cayenne pepper, minced green onion, and Parmesan cheese to the flour mix. Probably sacrilegious to a Southerner! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
My mom loves fried green tomatoes and I made these for her birthday dinner. They were OK...but nothing near what my grandmother used to make! I doubt I would make them again with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I have always loved Fried green Tomatoes and think this recipie is OK. I combined ritz crackers with the flour and used oil vs butter. i think they were too peppery so i will cut that down next time I make them. I cut mine a little too thin and the coating over powered the tomatoes. I also double dipped. All in all they were good but i think I like the old fashion batter better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was the best if not better than local cafe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Was easy and turned out good, but don't eat more than 2 slices -- we both got tummy aches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
These turned out great. I also used cracker crumbs as a crust, and they tasted delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCedar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Okay, these are still cooking on the stove and we've already eaten all the ones that are cooked! They are DIVINE!! I'm from WA state and had never even seen a fried green tomato, had to try it out to use up all of our green tomatos. Followed the recipe except for added seasoning salt and a packet of onion soup mix to the flour. SO GOOD! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROXYJAS
Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States