Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These are wonderful!! I remember trying fried tomatoes as a child and hated it. How times (and taste buds!)have changed! I made the recipe according to directions, and I also added a little Lawry's seasoning (just a pinch) for a little extra flavor. They turned out great! I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
My first time making fried green tomatoes, turned out great! I sprinkled with parmesan cheese for extra flavor, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I tried this version after misplacing my mom's recipe. Thought it was absolutely delicious! I'd never tried the cracker coating before, we always used cornmeal. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
These were awesome!! As some reviewers suggested, I did use Ritz instead of saltines. They were just like the local restaurant makes. I also recommend making the Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans from this site to go with it. To die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I loved this!! I had never had fried green tomatos before, but we will definiately make again. The only change I made was that I was out of bread crumbs, so I used stuffing mix that I crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guide Rock, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
These were perfect! I love fried green tomatoes but have had trouble in the past with them. I tried this recipe and one that called for cornmeal and this one is much better! The cornmeal was too gritty. These came out crispy and delicious. I did use lemon pepper I found in another recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I gave this 3 stars because the butter burns and there's not enough seasoning. Good basic recipe if you add your own touches to it. I use half canola oil/half bacon grease. You really can't beat the flavor that bacon grease gives the toms. Also I dip the toms in seasoned flour(to make the coating stick to the toms),then egg, and then your favorite cracker crumbs. If you mix the cracker crumbs with the flour (like others suggest) you just don't get enough cracker. I agree with adding a pinch of garlic powder, onion powder and cayenne. I served it with Burgerville special sauce (known to you great Northwesterners!) It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These are really good and easy to make! Even my children, who resisted trying them loved them. Not a healthy dish, but certainly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Loved these! I used vegetable oil, as it doesn't seem to burn as easily as olive oil (which I usually use).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I have been frying my pork chops like this for years, but never thought of applying that same method to fried green tomatoes before. I'm glad that I came across this recipe - it will be the way that I fry my green tomatoes from now on. It is even better when served along side Chipotle Mayo also from this site. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States