Fried Green Tomatoes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This is the way my Mother always did Green Tomatoes . Very good. We also in the fall what tomatoes didn't rippen we slice them place the slices on a tray and freeze, then put in ziplog bag.When you want to eat them Dip , Coat with flour, season to taste , and fry. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
See my other reviews of Fried Green Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
We followed this recipe completely for our first attempt at Fried Green Tomatoes. We found them a bit bland and the coating to thin for our taste. The second time around we seasoned the breading with some garlic powder, red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese. After double dippin in the egg and breading mix... we loved the final result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This is a very good recipe! Fast and easy! I served a platter of tomatoes with individual bowls of toppings such as sour cream, grated cheese, tiny chopped green onions, shredded cheese, ect. It was a great hit! My thanks to Robin! Arizona Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
this was awesome! not gritty like cornmeal makes it! my son loved them, I added hot sauce to them, and my whole family loves them! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I hope when people come looking for fried green tomato recipes they continue until they find this one! While crispy coating and crunchy texture is awesome on fried chicken, fried green tomatoes are best with a lighter batter and a slight softness, in my opinion. :o) This recipe provides that perfectly. In following my own mom and grandma, I use part butter and part canola oil when frying ... the butter adds a nice flavor. Just be careful not to burn! Once our tomatoes are coated and in the pan, we also sprinkled with a little white sugar. Flipping to spirnkle both sides. You could do this from the flour stage; mix it in, but I do what I have seen done before me. The end result is a soft fried texture with these bits of carmelized sugar that just play perfectly with the slight tartness of the green tomato. Love them!! Thanks for sharing your recipe and letting folks know cornmeal isn't the only way to an awesome fried green tomato!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was a great recipe! They taste just like my mother's. I live alone so I only used one tomato and cut the other ingredients in half for a single's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Excellent recipe! I added the hot sauce to the egg and it turned out great. Some of the best I have ever cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were perfect for my green tomatoes that fell of the plant. I used egg beaters instead of the eggs and fried in canola oil. Very yummy and the tart flavor is perfect. Thank you for this method and ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
HATE CORNMEAL AND CRACKER BREADING ON TOMATOES, THIS IS THE BEST WAY TO EAT THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States