Fried Green Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
The consitance of the batter is perfect. I make these all the time. The flavor is great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
I like the cornmeal verses bread crumbs! Thanks for the tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Ohhhhh...yum! This is my favorite summer splurge! Made these tonight and they are absolutely delicious. The cornmeal is the secret here. I add paprika and s & P to the meal for color and flavor. Slice the tomatoes 1/4 inch thick, this is a must. Sprinkle with Kosher salt as soon as they are out of the frying pan. I use bottled ramoulade sauce for dipping. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I tried this recipe with very firm red tomatos.they tasted great after slicing i dipped each slice in egg wash before dipping in corn meal. For added crispness. This is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
A true southern recipe! I used self rising cornmeal as this is the only way I have ever seen them made in the south. No egg should be added because it will take away from the flavor. You must try, they have a a lovely sweet and sour taste. To be a really southern dish serve with grits. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I used red tomatoes which made it a little messy but they still tasted great and received lots of compliments. I'd definatly try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is a great starting point for fried green tomatoes I only suggest a flour/cornmeal breading mix, but over all I found it tasty and easy to make. I did actually try the recipe EXACTLY as you wrote it. Thank You for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I dipped them in egg before the cornmeal. They were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I first tried this recipe because of the book and movie "Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe". For all who haven't seen or read it, both the book and movie are wonderful. However, the recipe in the book calls for bacon drippings instead of vegetable oil, which I've found adds a good deal of flavor, just to let you know. This is a great recipe for when you just want something quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States