Fried Green Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Years ago, I would have given this a better rating. However, many years of cooking (and eating) in 5 Southern States has taught me that SELF rising Flour is better to use than meal. Also IF you must use meal, make it FRESH, home done FINELY crushed Saltine Cracker Meal. The best oil to fry them in is Peanut Oil as it has a higher burning point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
The cornmeal didn't stick well & had no taste. Better season well & dip in egg or milk before frying. I think I will stick to my ole standby of frying in Louisana seasoned fish fry. Thats the best.. Dredge in egg & then batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I dipped them in egg before the cornmeal, and when they were done we sprinkled them with grated fresh parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I first tried this recipe because of the book and movie "Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe". For all who haven't seen or read it, both the book and movie are wonderful. However, the recipe in the book calls for bacon drippings instead of vegetable oil, which I've found adds a good deal of flavor, just to let you know. This is a great recipe for when you just want something quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I fried the first slice according to the recipe and ended up adding a little flour to the cornmeal, garlic salt, onion powder, cayenne, then dipped in cornmeal mixture, then in an egg wash, and back into the cornmeal before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
A true southern recipe! I used self rising cornmeal as this is the only way I have ever seen them made in the south. No egg should be added because it will take away from the flavor. You must try, they have a a lovely sweet and sour taste. To be a really southern dish serve with grits. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Ohhhhh...yum! This is my favorite summer splurge! Made these tonight and they are absolutely delicious. The cornmeal is the secret here. I add paprika and s & P to the meal for color and flavor. Slice the tomatoes 1/4 inch thick, this is a must. Sprinkle with Kosher salt as soon as they are out of the frying pan. I use bottled ramoulade sauce for dipping. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
taste much better with flour,salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dexter, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Try a different batter! I made the recipe with cornmeal. When fried, it made my tomatoes taste like popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This wasn't very tasty for me. The cornmeal didn't get very crunchy, but maybe I was doing something wrong. I had to salt it tons in order to make it taste less bland. I'll try other "batters" for frying things on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States