Fried Green Tomatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
I like the cornmeal verses bread crumbs! Thanks for the tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I used red tomatoes which made it a little messy but they still tasted great and received lots of compliments. I'd definatly try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This wasn't very tasty for me. The cornmeal didn't get very crunchy, but maybe I was doing something wrong. I had to salt it tons in order to make it taste less bland. I'll try other "batters" for frying things on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I first tried this recipe because of the book and movie "Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe". For all who haven't seen or read it, both the book and movie are wonderful. However, the recipe in the book calls for bacon drippings instead of vegetable oil, which I've found adds a good deal of flavor, just to let you know. This is a great recipe for when you just want something quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I tried this recipe with very firm red tomatos.they tasted great after slicing i dipped each slice in egg wash before dipping in corn meal. For added crispness. This is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I dipped them in egg before the cornmeal, and when they were done we sprinkled them with grated fresh parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Years ago, I would have given this a better rating. However, many years of cooking (and eating) in 5 Southern States has taught me that SELF rising Flour is better to use than meal. Also IF you must use meal, make it FRESH, home done FINELY crushed Saltine Cracker Meal. The best oil to fry them in is Peanut Oil as it has a higher burning point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Try a different batter! I made the recipe with cornmeal. When fried, it made my tomatoes taste like popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I fried the first slice according to the recipe and ended up adding a little flour to the cornmeal, garlic salt, onion powder, cayenne, then dipped in cornmeal mixture, then in an egg wash, and back into the cornmeal before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States