Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Didn't use the salt with the lemon pepper. Otherwise followed recipe. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
VER GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I also tried this and LOVED it so much, as well as my family. Thanks Grandma!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
this is a great use for green tomatoes! the lemon pepper adds a great flavor and the cornmeal crunch! good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is the best my Gandma (Gadsden, AL) would be proud. I have never seen a recipe so close to hers. This is my favorite food. I have tried it everywhere possible. Lemon Pepper is an amazing addition. If you add egg for breading you will mask the true flavor. The salt "bleeds" the tomatoes. Try half flour half cornmeal. As Granma would say "Cornmeal burns and flour tastes bad." Everyone fights for my fried green 'maters, I can't wait for them to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
The lemon pepper is a wonderful addition! As others state, it needs an egg wash before frying. Upon doing that, the lemon pepper was left in the egg. SO, I added the lemon pepper to the cornmeal instead. I dipped the maters in the eggs and dredged in the cornmeal/lemon pepper mixture. Served with a bacon ranch dressing. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
easy and delicious. I tried frying with just the breading and then tried some after dipping in an egg wash. The breading stayed on much better during frying putting them in the egg wash first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
was excellent! The only thing I did was to add some herbs to some of the cornmeal (not all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Great recipe. As many others suggested, I used egg to help keep a nice coating of cornmeal on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
coating would'nt stick very well....need to dip in egg first and add flour perhaps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States