Fried Green Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Had a hard time finding 'green tomatoes' but worth the search! Grilled cheese of any variety is a go-to! I plan to try 'Fried Green Tomatoes' soon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I have always wanted to try fried green tomatoes, and as a sandwich lover, this recipe fit the bill. I myself added Miracle Whip and a fresh basil leaf to the sandwich. It added another layer of flavor to the jalapeno peppers. I live in the northeast, and to find these coveted green tomatoes, I went to the local farm stand and found plenty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I've made this many times...if green tomatoes aren't in season, fried zucchini slices work great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I grew up on fried green tomato sandwiches.. we usually add a few slices of bacon.. AND YOU ACTUALLY CAN BUY THEM IN GROCERY STORES.. I THINK IT JUST DEPENDS ON WHAT PART OF THE U.S YOUR LOCATED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marmit78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
FYI!!!!! No store will carry green tomatoes! You need to grow them!Or grow regular tomatoes and pick the not yet ripe. I grow them every year they are delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is good. I actually don't use straight up cornmeal. I make a mixture of white cornmeal, raw grits, yellow cornmeal and flour. It seems to stay on the tomato better. Sometimes I actually leave off the cheese and jalapeno and serve this on a rye bread. Its always awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Its ok. I am looking for different ways to make fried green tomato's. I thought this looked neat but I liked the red tomato's in the sandwich a whole bunch and was disappointed with the green ones. Sand-which is great with just red tomato's. Fried green tomato's better alone then in the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
i CUT DOWN ON THE BUTTER AND PUT THIS ON TOASTED CIABBATA (SP) BREAD. LIKE IT BETTER W FRESH JALEPENOS. I DON'T NO IF RECIOPE MENTIONS IT, BUT DON'T FORGET TO S AND P TOMATOES BEFORE CORNMEAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is a great sandwich! I made this before because I was looking for a different way to use them and I'm so glad I found this recipe! I actually made it first time last year but I didn't put my review down,I did tonight. I make them on jalepeno bread,I use three green tomatoes but I use only one red tomato,because the red makes it really slippery but it's good!! Everybody enjoy this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
oh my gosh a fried green tomato sandwich! how perfect this time of year when i've picked them all before frost and have both reds and greens. love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States