Fried Green Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I've made this many times...if green tomatoes aren't in season, fried zucchini slices work great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Had a hard time finding 'green tomatoes' but worth the search! Grilled cheese of any variety is a go-to! I plan to try 'Fried Green Tomatoes' soon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is a great sandwich! I made this before because I was looking for a different way to use them and I'm so glad I found this recipe! I actually made it first time last year but I didn't put my review down,I did tonight. I make them on jalepeno bread,I use three green tomatoes but I use only one red tomato,because the red makes it really slippery but it's good!! Everybody enjoy this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
My husband did not care for this but I loved it so I rate it five stars. Will make again for me. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is good. I actually don't use straight up cornmeal. I make a mixture of white cornmeal, raw grits, yellow cornmeal and flour. It seems to stay on the tomato better. Sometimes I actually leave off the cheese and jalapeno and serve this on a rye bread. Its always awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
FYI!!!!! No store will carry green tomatoes! You need to grow them!Or grow regular tomatoes and pick the not yet ripe. I grow them every year they are delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Delicious! It was hard finding the green tomatoes, but really worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guinea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lauderhill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was my first time to ever try fried green tomatoes and they were good! Straight from our new garden. I used sourdough english muffins instead of bread. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apaige232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
oh my gosh a fried green tomato sandwich! how perfect this time of year when i've picked them all before frost and have both reds and greens. love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I grew up on fried green tomato sandwiches.. we usually add a few slices of bacon.. AND YOU ACTUALLY CAN BUY THEM IN GROCERY STORES.. I THINK IT JUST DEPENDS ON WHAT PART OF THE U.S YOUR LOCATED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marmit78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States