Fried Green Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
My husband did not care for this but I loved it so I rate it five stars. Will make again for me. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Ohhhh man, this is heavenly! The only reason I didn't give it five stars? The store I stopped at didn't have any more green tomatoes :( So I had to use red, and of course, it is not even close to the same thing. (I've had FGT before, so I know the taste very well). I'm going to try a few other grocery stores and see if I can give this another go with green tomatoes next time. I gotta say, this is a great sandwich, I love the combination of the pepperjack cheese, the jalapeno slices, and the fried tomato! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Delicious! It was hard finding the green tomatoes, but really worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guinea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lauderhill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was my first time to ever try fried green tomatoes and they were good! Straight from our new garden. I used sourdough english muffins instead of bread. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apaige232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
oh my gosh a fried green tomato sandwich! how perfect this time of year when i've picked them all before frost and have both reds and greens. love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is a great sandwich! I made this before because I was looking for a different way to use them and I'm so glad I found this recipe! I actually made it first time last year but I didn't put my review down,I did tonight. I make them on jalepeno bread,I use three green tomatoes but I use only one red tomato,because the red makes it really slippery but it's good!! Everybody enjoy this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
i CUT DOWN ON THE BUTTER AND PUT THIS ON TOASTED CIABBATA (SP) BREAD. LIKE IT BETTER W FRESH JALEPENOS. I DON'T NO IF RECIOPE MENTIONS IT, BUT DON'T FORGET TO S AND P TOMATOES BEFORE CORNMEAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Its ok. I am looking for different ways to make fried green tomato's. I thought this looked neat but I liked the red tomato's in the sandwich a whole bunch and was disappointed with the green ones. Sand-which is great with just red tomato's. Fried green tomato's better alone then in the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is good. I actually don't use straight up cornmeal. I make a mixture of white cornmeal, raw grits, yellow cornmeal and flour. It seems to stay on the tomato better. Sometimes I actually leave off the cheese and jalapeno and serve this on a rye bread. Its always awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
FYI!!!!! No store will carry green tomatoes! You need to grow them!Or grow regular tomatoes and pick the not yet ripe. I grow them every year they are delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States