Fried Green Tomatillos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Well, I hate being the first to review a recipe, especially when it's going to be a bad one. Sorry, but this was a complete waste of my beloved tomatillos. The seasoning in the cornmeal dominated the tom's, and clashed with them. I'm going to try again but just dredge them in flour and s&p. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
this was not so good..I fixed them as it said and then fixed the rest like green fried tomatoes..which was so much better..use the whole egg. and cornmeal and flour mixed and season to taste cook in a little olive oil..so good..try that..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used flour, just like fried green tomatoes. They were GREAT!! I made them for our super bowel party & everyone LOVED them! They went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made these as my green tomatoes were not ready yet to harvest... I soaked them in buttermilk and dipped in Kentucky Kernal seasoned flour ( by Hodgens Mills) they turned out great...A great substitute in winter when green tomatoes are not available
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crisafis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used flour. They were actually pretty good. Made a pepper jelly-lime sauce for dipping, which really, REALLY helped them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah2974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Pretty good for our first tomatillo experiment. We used flour as we were out of cornmeal. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I tried the recipe as written and agree with other reviewers. The cornmeal is overpowering. I did the second batch with buttermilk in lieu of the egg whites and mixed the seasoning with flour. Was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I recently discovered these little jewels in the grocery store so decided to buy a few. Had no clue what to make with them so turned to AR. I found this recipe and read the reviews. I followed the reviews advice using egg, flour and lots of fresh ground pepper. Fried them until golden and served with scrambled eggs and toast for breakfast! Delicious!! Added more to grocery list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very tasty with a change or two. Used the whole egg and flour instead of cornmeal. Used butter (why not??) and topped with jalapeno jelly. The trick is to fry them crispy not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States