Fried Farfalle Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I liked them, but they certainly aren't the sort of thing that everyone will love. It's a lot like trying a new flavor of Doritos. I used shells, which were great for eating but a bit difficult to fry. I also used grated Parmesan which had trouble sticking, but the shells did a great job of catching the flavor. But the really important change was I dipped them in marinara sauce. That was fantastic! And this is a great thing to do with the large amount of pasta-based meals I find myself living off of. (Haha college student off the meal plan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I made these over the weekend, using some leftover rotini from another meal. We seasoned half of the pasta using the recipe above and half using just seasoned salt. I seasoned it right after removing the pasta from the skillet. We liked the seasoning salt better and it stuck better to the pasta. It made a nice crunchy snack, although it is time-consuming. I think it would make a nice addition to a party snack mix using a variety of ingredients including nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
made this for my kids and it definately didn't come out right, I tripled the seasoning...which is a must, and cooked it in batches of handfuls, either it came out sticking to each other or burnt.. won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I had a similar chip at a catered event I attended and fell in love with this unusual bar snack. I was happy to find this recipe so I could try to replicate it at home. Unfortunately, I believe I fried the pasta too long and then wasn't able to get the seasonings and parmesan to stick. Does anyone have any suggestions? If done right, I know these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubyn Peterson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These were actually really good! They were a bit time consuming, but nothing to deter me from making these again. However, I found it near impossible to get the seasoning to stick to the pasta. I had to omit the dry mustard since I didn't have any on hand, but I substituted a few other seasonings and it was delicious. I think I'll try to experiment with different pasta shapes, and try to find a way to get the seasonings to stick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These were just okay, seemed a little bizarre to me to have pasta as chips, especially with all that seasoning in there. Wasn't impressed with them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I must have fried them for too long. they had a wierd chewy, tough consistency. They were hard to eat. If fried right they would still not be fabulous- not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Tasty little treats. Something different compared to potato chips. We sent some to our neighbors but got mixed reactions. The kids loved them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
My family loved these,especially my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Farfalle with Giardiniera

See how pickled vegetables add big flavor to a simple, healthy pasta dish.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States