Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
I love making anything from scratch, especially when it comes to dough. at first glance the dough recipe looks way too simple, and didn't have any butter element. as tempting as it was for me to tweak it, I kept the recipe as is. I am so glad I did! it was on point! flaky and just the right amount of chew...absolutely delicious. as for the filling I substituted more meat because I only had a little less than 1/2 a lb of ground beef, so I added half a link of jalepeno Italian sausage. I also added a few cloves of garlic...because what's onions without garlic? and because we live in the south, everything tastes better with Creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I halved the recipe and modified it a bit. I added chorizo, used half a pound of ground beef (80/20), used about 2/3 of the spices after I had measured them out together in a small bowl, added a little garlic powder, and brushed them with eggwash and baked them. I baked them at 350 degrees but they took a long time, next time I would bake them at a higher temperature for a shorter amount of time. The crust came out a little too crunchy - but good, nonetheless. I LOVED the filling as I made it - the raisins and egg were actually great additions; I admit I was skeptical! This made 8 empanadas for me - I always tend to oversize things, though. Great dinner, would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Landon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Good recipe!! I baked by Airfryer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My kids LOVE THESE! My daughter is super picky and I can put pork or beef or chicken in them with onions and cheese and she devours them!!!!! This reciepe was a wonderful find for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Just make sure to have a thin dough layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I only used the dough for this and created my own stuffing. My husband and his work buddies, one of whom is south american and eats these regularly, loved them. His Chilean friend said they were better than his wifes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
currently making . Had to sneak a bite and AMAZING! PERFECT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Crain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CIAsike
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Amazing and easy to make, i love the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Great recipe ill be using this one often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The filling is ok but I had to add a lot off extra seasoning to get it right and the dough is very bland which is fine if you are planning on making a dessert but if you're adding the pino I would definitely use a different recipe for the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Clay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States