Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
We both liked this recipe. She declared it a keeper. I cheated by using the pre-made Goya empanada wrapper, they are located in your grocers freezer section. Just defrost and roll out abit with a rolling pin and add this filling, easy. Now about the two ingredients everyone comments on, eggs and raisins. I liked both, but I wouldn't go to the trouble to boil eggs just for this recipe. It would be fine without. Now the raisins really added a nice sweetness. Thanks for a new household favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These were a hit at our Christmas party. I did leave out the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great basic recipe, but keep in mind the ingredients are all pretty mild. A pinch of salt is a little too little for our taste. Spiced up to personal taste and these are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Recipe is great. To save time on the dough, I used frozen Goya Discs. Thaw them and add the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was my first time making or even eating empanadas. I was apprehensive at first because of the ingredients (eggs? raisins? vinegar?!) but pleasantly surprised by the results. The dough was easy to work with following refrigeration. I also baked mine vs. frying. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were so good, and a big hit with everyone at my dinner party. I followed the recipe, but left out the eggs and used refrigerated dough. I fried them in an electric skillet because I don't have a deep fryer. The flavor was wonderful, it sounds like a strange combo; beef, paprika & cumin with raisins, but they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
DA BOMB! Upped the cumin and paprika and added a few pats of butter and a little more salt to the dough. I questioned the raisins and egg, but they are delicious! The raisins add just a hint of sweetness to cut through the richness. I also made some empanadas with just meat & cheese. Hubby loved those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
They tasted great, i didnt make them with ground beef, but only cheese. The dough was a little hard to get it "just right" but at the end they tasted awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yommi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunnellon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
It got so many good reviews I thought I'd give it a try. It was bland, greasy and extremely disappointing. I hate wasting food but we tossed these and ended up eating a frozen pizza for dinner instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdamsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
These are really good... one of the nice things is that you can change the filling. You really could put just about anything in them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States