Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I made the dough in the morning so when I got home I only had to take care of the meat. I've tried with egg but it didn't taste different. I cut back to 1/4 cumin. Sixteen servings was a good amount for my husband and myself for dinner. I had a LOT of meat left over. Just used my hands to shape the circle and pinched closed. I baked it for 25 minutes,baste top to look better. The raisins are great otherwise it would be just like a meatloaf or sloppy joe taste. I found it easy for a beginner cook and the presentation looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was really good but needed more seasoning.I added a teaspoon of garlic and extra teaspoon of cumin,mixed in 1&1/2 cup of mexican spiced cheese blend. My family love it,not as hard to make as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
We made this dough but with a different filling. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mami

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe! My Argentine friend thought they were fantastic, so I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These are SO yummy! I 1/2 the dough and left the meat mixture the same and ended up having more then enough meat. We didn't have any raisins so I didn't put them in, if you're a little weirded out by the raisins (like we kind of were) you don't need to ad them. I did however ad a green pepper to the meat mixture, and that just added a little more zing. Also we dipped our Empanadas in guacamole which was a nice compliment, although not needed as the empanadas were nice a juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very very good, fairly easy to make, I thought the meat needed a little more. I personally like my food more heavily seasoned and medium spicy. So, I added the following to the meat mixture: Mrs. Dash Southwestern Chipotle seasoning, Smoked paprika,McCormick "Season All" seasoned salt, a little more cumin. The pastry came out great, nice and flaky and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
These were really good I had never had them before. I did change a few things however. First I did buy the Goya discs, I added some chopped potatoe, green onion, crushed red pepper, garlic and onion powder and in my husband's added some haberno sauce to really spice it up. I also did half ground beef and had 1 chicken breast left over so I did chicken in half with all the same spices. The chicken ones were so much better than the ground beef even my husband who's not a big chicken lover liked the chicken better. Next time, I think I'll do chicken and shaved steak and maybe try baking them :) Great recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Very good! The dough was tuff to roll out. I tried half of the batch in the oven for 400 degrees per the other reviews, I didn't care for it too much. The other half I fried and it was way better!! Definitely fried is better, the dough was so much softer and flaky than when it was baked. I did my own filling, I used ground beef and added chorizo. I also added small cubes of potatoe and minced garlic and a fresh jalepeno with the onion. I used Goya seasoning, salt, pepper, cumin, oregano, and crushed red pepper and tomatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe! I left out the eggs, but I thought it was delicious without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was not good at all. The dough remained "doughy" no matter how long I fried it. The outside would be brown & inside would be doughy. We also had to find something else for dinner since it was basically burnt raw dough. I hate throwing food away so thank goodness I only made a few before I quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaquice

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States