Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
We made this dough but with a different filling. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mami

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe! My Argentine friend thought they were fantastic, so I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These are SO yummy! I 1/2 the dough and left the meat mixture the same and ended up having more then enough meat. We didn't have any raisins so I didn't put them in, if you're a little weirded out by the raisins (like we kind of were) you don't need to ad them. I did however ad a green pepper to the meat mixture, and that just added a little more zing. Also we dipped our Empanadas in guacamole which was a nice compliment, although not needed as the empanadas were nice a juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very very good, fairly easy to make, I thought the meat needed a little more. I personally like my food more heavily seasoned and medium spicy. So, I added the following to the meat mixture: Mrs. Dash Southwestern Chipotle seasoning, Smoked paprika,McCormick "Season All" seasoned salt, a little more cumin. The pastry came out great, nice and flaky and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
These were really good I had never had them before. I did change a few things however. First I did buy the Goya discs, I added some chopped potatoe, green onion, crushed red pepper, garlic and onion powder and in my husband's added some haberno sauce to really spice it up. I also did half ground beef and had 1 chicken breast left over so I did chicken in half with all the same spices. The chicken ones were so much better than the ground beef even my husband who's not a big chicken lover liked the chicken better. Next time, I think I'll do chicken and shaved steak and maybe try baking them :) Great recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Very good! The dough was tuff to roll out. I tried half of the batch in the oven for 400 degrees per the other reviews, I didn't care for it too much. The other half I fried and it was way better!! Definitely fried is better, the dough was so much softer and flaky than when it was baked. I did my own filling, I used ground beef and added chorizo. I also added small cubes of potatoe and minced garlic and a fresh jalepeno with the onion. I used Goya seasoning, salt, pepper, cumin, oregano, and crushed red pepper and tomatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe! I left out the eggs, but I thought it was delicious without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was not good at all. The dough remained "doughy" no matter how long I fried it. The outside would be brown & inside would be doughy. We also had to find something else for dinner since it was basically burnt raw dough. I hate throwing food away so thank goodness I only made a few before I quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaquice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
We both liked this recipe. She declared it a keeper. I cheated by using the pre-made Goya empanada wrapper, they are located in your grocers freezer section. Just defrost and roll out abit with a rolling pin and add this filling, easy. Now about the two ingredients everyone comments on, eggs and raisins. I liked both, but I wouldn't go to the trouble to boil eggs just for this recipe. It would be fine without. Now the raisins really added a nice sweetness. Thanks for a new household favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These were a hit at our Christmas party. I did leave out the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States