Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The recipe was a good one, but I ended up using left over pot roast (which was delicious) and store bought refrigerated dough. I do not recommend going the store bought route - it made these very greasy as it soaked up the grease in the pan (and they are already heavy with fats.) The mix was very good - I was a little hesitant on adding the egg and raisins, but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I started out by chopping into cubes onions, green peppers and tomatoes. I sauteed the vegetables once it started to brown I added the ground beef and I seasoned with salt, garlic powder, black pepper. Once the ground beef cooked well, I drained the oil/grease out of the pan. With the ground beef fully cooked I added it back to the pan and I then added enough raisins (to taste). After a few minutes of the meat and raisins blending I removed the pan from the stove top and I added chopped hard boiled eggs..I used more egg white (higher in protein). Let the meat cool off. I purchased the Goya disks and since they're thick I actually used a rolling pin to stretch out the disc...this was a great idea because I could add alot more meat. To some empanadas I added White Spanish Cheese (lite salt) on top of the ground. I tightened the edges and covered the empanada lightly with egg white. I lightly covered the baking pan with vegetable PAM spray and lined up the Empanadas. I baked as recommended for 20 minutes @ 400 degrees. Once I saw the empanadas browning I took them out of the oven and lightly brushed Molasses over each. I let them cool for a few minutes before we began to enjoy them...they were Awesome!!! Everyone loved the Empanadas and definitely a healthy way eat them. Give it a try and let me know your thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
You must be an argentinean!! This is the real thing!! I am from Argentina and the recipe is the same, except I also include pimento filled green olives. Great dough!! Thanks for your recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillycooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I made the dough in the morning so when I got home I only had to take care of the meat. I've tried with egg but it didn't taste different. I cut back to 1/4 cumin. Sixteen servings was a good amount for my husband and myself for dinner. I had a LOT of meat left over. Just used my hands to shape the circle and pinched closed. I baked it for 25 minutes,baste top to look better. The raisins are great otherwise it would be just like a meatloaf or sloppy joe taste. I found it easy for a beginner cook and the presentation looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was really good but needed more seasoning.I added a teaspoon of garlic and extra teaspoon of cumin,mixed in 1&1/2 cup of mexican spiced cheese blend. My family love it,not as hard to make as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
We made this dough but with a different filling. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mami

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe! My Argentine friend thought they were fantastic, so I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These are SO yummy! I 1/2 the dough and left the meat mixture the same and ended up having more then enough meat. We didn't have any raisins so I didn't put them in, if you're a little weirded out by the raisins (like we kind of were) you don't need to ad them. I did however ad a green pepper to the meat mixture, and that just added a little more zing. Also we dipped our Empanadas in guacamole which was a nice compliment, although not needed as the empanadas were nice a juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very very good, fairly easy to make, I thought the meat needed a little more. I personally like my food more heavily seasoned and medium spicy. So, I added the following to the meat mixture: Mrs. Dash Southwestern Chipotle seasoning, Smoked paprika,McCormick "Season All" seasoned salt, a little more cumin. The pastry came out great, nice and flaky and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
These were really good I had never had them before. I did change a few things however. First I did buy the Goya discs, I added some chopped potatoe, green onion, crushed red pepper, garlic and onion powder and in my husband's added some haberno sauce to really spice it up. I also did half ground beef and had 1 chicken breast left over so I did chicken in half with all the same spices. The chicken ones were so much better than the ground beef even my husband who's not a big chicken lover liked the chicken better. Next time, I think I'll do chicken and shaved steak and maybe try baking them :) Great recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States