Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were good! Only changes I made were that I added some garlic powder and some chili powder and I baked them. The kids liked them so that's good. I think they'd be better fried (what isn't?) but i wanted to go the healthy route :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I lived in Chile for over three years, and these are very close to what my husband and I became accustomed to. I did, however, add a little hot sauce to the filling to spice it up a little, and black olives to each empanada . I kept every thing else the same. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...making them brought back fond memories !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Perfect dough and instructions! I was scared making these cause the last time I tried making empanadas I baked then in the oven and they were so hard we had rocks for dinner! These came out great, Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Oh, my God! I'm Chilean. Empanadas, are among my favorite traditional food. Chilean empanadas are unique in texture and taste. This recipe is great! You can also substitute the meat filling ("el pino") for Mozarella cheese, poultry, or seafood. When you use cheese, don't use any of the ingredients for the meat one, just the cheese! Sparkle confectioner sugar on the top of the fried cheese empanada before serving. This recipe should've been called "Fried Meat Empanadas" (Empanadas Fritas de Pino). "Pino" is what we call the mix of all the ingredients in the meat. For all empanadas, slide ur clean, wet index finger on the edge of the dough before folding and cooking. This prevents the filling from dripping or falling out while fryng the empanada. Poke the top of the dough with a fork about 3 times before frying so air can exit and prevent dough for exploding while frying. Look for the recipes for all of them and try them. You and ur family will just love them all! Your guests will love them, too. Make at least a dozen of them for a family of three or four. For parties, make sure you make at least 2 per guest. Cook time is less than 5 minutes. Two or three minutes of deep fry should be enough. IMPORTANT: Pls, don't use supermarket dough. The dough recipe is as important as the filling to taste the true Chilean empanadas. Add spices to the filling as per your taste. Don't substitute anything! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Recipe said to cook 5 minutes, but that seems too long. I pulled mine out after a minute or two and although they didn't gave a nice brown look they were lighter, crispy and the filling stayed moist. Next time I'll try a higher temp and less time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but it was very very dry and tasted like eating dry hamburger. I've had these before though and they are very good...when made correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The recipe was a good one, but I ended up using left over pot roast (which was delicious) and store bought refrigerated dough. I do not recommend going the store bought route - it made these very greasy as it soaked up the grease in the pan (and they are already heavy with fats.) The mix was very good - I was a little hesitant on adding the egg and raisins, but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I started out by chopping into cubes onions, green peppers and tomatoes. I sauteed the vegetables once it started to brown I added the ground beef and I seasoned with salt, garlic powder, black pepper. Once the ground beef cooked well, I drained the oil/grease out of the pan. With the ground beef fully cooked I added it back to the pan and I then added enough raisins (to taste). After a few minutes of the meat and raisins blending I removed the pan from the stove top and I added chopped hard boiled eggs..I used more egg white (higher in protein). Let the meat cool off. I purchased the Goya disks and since they're thick I actually used a rolling pin to stretch out the disc...this was a great idea because I could add alot more meat. To some empanadas I added White Spanish Cheese (lite salt) on top of the ground. I tightened the edges and covered the empanada lightly with egg white. I lightly covered the baking pan with vegetable PAM spray and lined up the Empanadas. I baked as recommended for 20 minutes @ 400 degrees. Once I saw the empanadas browning I took them out of the oven and lightly brushed Molasses over each. I let them cool for a few minutes before we began to enjoy them...they were Awesome!!! Everyone loved the Empanadas and definitely a healthy way eat them. Give it a try and let me know your thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
You must be an argentinean!! This is the real thing!! I am from Argentina and the recipe is the same, except I also include pimento filled green olives. Great dough!! Thanks for your recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillycooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I made the dough in the morning so when I got home I only had to take care of the meat. I've tried with egg but it didn't taste different. I cut back to 1/4 cumin. Sixteen servings was a good amount for my husband and myself for dinner. I had a LOT of meat left over. Just used my hands to shape the circle and pinched closed. I baked it for 25 minutes,baste top to look better. The raisins are great otherwise it would be just like a meatloaf or sloppy joe taste. I found it easy for a beginner cook and the presentation looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States