Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made these for dinner tonight and I ate them until I had no more room in my belly!! What a yummy recipe! I followed some reviewer suggestions and added diced potatoes and chorizo sausage. It was perfect. I think if I had not added the chorizo, I would have added hot pepper or some kind of spice to kick up the heat, but the chorizo did enough for me. I did half the batch deep fried and the other half baked at 400* for 20 minutes(brushed with olive oil at the halfway mark). We loved both methods equally. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k-man's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemmons, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I used this recipe strictly for the dough. My mother and I have tried various ways of making dough, but they never seemed to come out quite right. This dough comes out great! It's just how I remember it from Puerto Rico. It does take a good amount of time to make, and it is a challenge without said pastry blender, but it's worth the work if you really want an authentic empanada dough. I used about 1/4 cup more water than was called for, and I also used extra flour for rolling the dough into disks. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I am so excited I found this recipe because I have been wanting to make empanadas for a while and now that I've found this I know I will be making them often! I did make changes, however, and they were: 1. I didn't use hard boiled eggs because I wasn't sold on the idea. The empanadas were AMAZING so I'm guessing they're not necessary. 2. I didn't fry them. Instead I took advice from other reviewers and baked them in the oven for 15-20 min at 400 degrees. After about 10 min in I brushed them with olive oil then left them in the oven for the rest of the time. 3. I added finely shredded carrots and super diced potatoes mostly because I had them left over from an earlier recipe. I couldn't taste the carrots so I figured this is a good way to sneak in veggies. The potatoes were also a good addition. 4. I was worried about the raisins but they actually added a yummy bite of sweetness to the empanada. But I wanted to be fun/quirky and make a garnish on the side to compliment the taste. SO I decided to make a grape salsa, which tastes AMAZING (along with sour cream) with the 'panadas. I eyed all ingredients but basically it calls for a seeded chopped jalapeno, some diced onion, chopped cilantro, a bit of vinegar, a sprinkle of salt and chopped grapes (chopped into 8ths of 4ths). Mix it all in a bowl and TA DA! Overall I LOVED this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Bake them at 375 for 15 minutes for a healthy alternative to frying. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were good! Only changes I made were that I added some garlic powder and some chili powder and I baked them. The kids liked them so that's good. I think they'd be better fried (what isn't?) but i wanted to go the healthy route :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I lived in Chile for over three years, and these are very close to what my husband and I became accustomed to. I did, however, add a little hot sauce to the filling to spice it up a little, and black olives to each empanada . I kept every thing else the same. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...making them brought back fond memories !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Perfect dough and instructions! I was scared making these cause the last time I tried making empanadas I baked then in the oven and they were so hard we had rocks for dinner! These came out great, Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Oh, my God! I'm Chilean. Empanadas, are among my favorite traditional food. Chilean empanadas are unique in texture and taste. This recipe is great! You can also substitute the meat filling ("el pino") for Mozarella cheese, poultry, or seafood. When you use cheese, don't use any of the ingredients for the meat one, just the cheese! Sparkle confectioner sugar on the top of the fried cheese empanada before serving. This recipe should've been called "Fried Meat Empanadas" (Empanadas Fritas de Pino). "Pino" is what we call the mix of all the ingredients in the meat. For all empanadas, slide ur clean, wet index finger on the edge of the dough before folding and cooking. This prevents the filling from dripping or falling out while fryng the empanada. Poke the top of the dough with a fork about 3 times before frying so air can exit and prevent dough for exploding while frying. Look for the recipes for all of them and try them. You and ur family will just love them all! Your guests will love them, too. Make at least a dozen of them for a family of three or four. For parties, make sure you make at least 2 per guest. Cook time is less than 5 minutes. Two or three minutes of deep fry should be enough. IMPORTANT: Pls, don't use supermarket dough. The dough recipe is as important as the filling to taste the true Chilean empanadas. Add spices to the filling as per your taste. Don't substitute anything! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Recipe said to cook 5 minutes, but that seems too long. I pulled mine out after a minute or two and although they didn't gave a nice brown look they were lighter, crispy and the filling stayed moist. Next time I'll try a higher temp and less time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but it was very very dry and tasted like eating dry hamburger. I've had these before though and they are very good...when made correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States