Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is good!! What inspire me to make this was when I was taking Spanish class and one of the students brought this dish to class for everyone to try. Since I tried this dish, I decided to go to this "recipe site" and look for a recipe for empanadas. Of all recipes for empanadas, I decided to try this one, because it came close to what I was looking for. The only thing different I did was instead of hard-cook eggs, I replaced it with chopped potatoes (peeled) and even add a little bit of cinnamon to give it that sweetness. I also like how raisins enhanced the flavor. Otherwise, this taste great and thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and each time i did i used margarine in place of shortening and cut back on the salt and i've always baked at 400C until edges are slightly brown (usually about 15-18min). Turns out great each time and i've also tried different filling for it too. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beachwood, Ohio, USA
Photo by emccarrell
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
i made fried fried cheese burger dumplings it was awesome....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipie, the empanadas are originally Argentine, thw women in the pampas prepared the "take away" treat for thier "Gauchos, other south American cointries coame out with similar versions as the Gauchos travelled throughout the Americas. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I've made this recipe several times, both as written and with changes. It's great both ways! I've found the egg is so subtle I don't really miss it. Instead, I usually replace it with diced potatoes or hash browns if I don't want to wait for the potatoes to cook. I've also tried puff pastry instead of the dough recipe and it's probably sacrilege but it's handy for a quicker meal. You can freeze the filling, the rolled out dough circles (separated by wax paper in a ziploc), or the whole cooked empanada. The puff pastry doesn't reheat as well. The recipe as written freezes great and microwaves like new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Did not use the raisins, vinegar or egg, I will try it next time! These were great! My 14 yr. old son wanted empanadas from a local shop. I told him we would make them instead! Will make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Almost as good as my mom's. Next time i make this i'll omit the vinegar, I though the taste of it was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe. I have been making Empanadas for years now but not the dough. Today I decided to make the dough seeing how it is not available where I live. The entire dish was gone in seconds. I always add olives, roasted red peppers and some garlic. Thanks for this dough recipe it is great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn3365

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
very good!! everything i thought they would be! i will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
the recipe for the crust was perfect! the filling i changed up a bit, skipped the raisins and eggs and added chopped garlic and chopped up green olives w/ pimentos. they were delicious. fried half and froze the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States