Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe! I did make a few changes. I knew that a pinch of salt would not be enough to taste the flavors so I used 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of season salt and 1 teaspoon of beef bouillon powder. I also used turkey instead of beef and omitted the raisins, vinegar, and eggs. For the crust I used Chef John's buttercrust pastry dough. I used the buttercrust pastry dough so I can bake it and still have the crunchy/flaky exterior. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Seriously the best! They were so good the only thing I did different was add taco mix to the meat to add flavor but the dough was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I did alter this recipe heavily - sorry... I used the dough recipe, using margarine in place of shortening, and that was fantastic. I didn't have the spices - I used the rest to make taco seasoning - so I used my taco seasoning instead! I used chopped onion and green peppers. It was sooooo good. My father who NEVER eats meals had 3 of these!!! He also asked that any leftovers be put away for him. I'm still in shock! There is no better compliment! The rest of us used sour cream and/or salsa to top them. Oh sooo good. Thank you so much for this base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I must say I really loved the dough. It is perfect although frying it was a pain. Next time I plan to bake. The filling however I totally changed that since I did not have all the ingredients. I think you put anything to your taste and come out a "winner"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
They came out great. I did 1lb of ground meat and 1/2 lb of ground turkey. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I am not sure what I did wrong. My dough was nothing like the finished product of a lot of the photos on this site. I do see some photos that look like mine did-which was pale white and very bland. The filing was bland, too. I made a double amount and ended up giving them away. I spent most of the day making them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe was too labor intensive for the finished product in my opinion. They fried up great in the deep fryer, but it was just too much fried dough for me. I was only able to eat 2 because of the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was awesome! Was not hard to make! I am the world's worst with rolling out dough, and this was by far the easiest to handle EVER! I married into a German family. They make something very similar called perogies or vranakha. It's same thing just filled with homemade cottage cheese, so I split my dough and did both! They loved it! It has now been voted in for Friday dinners. It makes up a ton too, so we ate for a few days on one batch. O, FYI, we had some fried and some baked: they preferred the baked ones, by consensus vote! We will be filling these little darlings with baked apples, strawberry jam, chicken mixed with veggies and cream soup (think chicken pot pie!) The list is endless! Thanks SO VERY MUCH FOR THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seminole, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It also works very well if you use the end of a fork to crimp the edges. Here in Chile they make empanadas allot. I have made them with just grated cheese, and they are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asaph Goodenough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I used my own filling recipe (ground beef onion garlic, smoked paprika, Mexican oregano) I sauteed it all together and drained it well and added bread crumbs and an egg. I rolled the pastry very thin and did not poke holes in them. They were well sealed and did not leak. The crust puffed up in the peanut oil in my deep fryer very nicely. Really good pastry for the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States