Fried Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This recipe is so yummy! It tastes just like the authintic Chilean Empanadas. I did add a tablespoon of chilean oregano and 2 cloves of chopped garlic. I also baked it instead of frying it. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I'll definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The crust is the bomb! Hot Pockets aint got nothing on this! I'm mexican, so i had to spice up the flavor to make them like grandma's. Additing chorizo is a must! Though, before I cooked the meat, I diced two russet potatoes into very small pieces and cooked them with the onion, olive oil, and plenty of fresh crushed black pepper and garlic salt. Once the potatoes were crispy and the onion tender, I stirred in the meat, and shortly after a whole link of chorizo. I also added some hot chili powder and oregano. If I really had wanted to follow grandma's recipe, I would have used finely chopped top sirloin instead of the frozen pre-ground variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
SO BLAND. I added more salt and spices and still bland. added cayenne to the recipe, got spice but still bland. Added cream cheese that made it edible. will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
From what Ive tasted of Empanadas from various countries this tastes like a flavorless Mexican version. Needs much more salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
it was good but.. i didn't know what happened to mine, but the crust was so hard when i baked it.. next time, i think i'll try frying it. good recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
really good. my family was suprised at the raisins. It made for a suprising treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I was very hesitant to try this recipe because the thought of working with dough terrifies me. But, after several small batches, they finally came out perfect. Novice cooks don't be scared, if I can make these you can too. The trick to filling them is to add only a tablespoon of meat to the dough and partially seal it, then repeat until it is full (I tried to add the meat all at once and kept making holes in the dough). I ended up baking these for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. The first batch I brushed them with egg whites and the second batch I brushed with milk and honey. I agree with another reviewer that the dough is probably best fried, but I wanted to make them a little healthier and they still tasted wonderful. Thanks for a delicious recipe, and I can't wait to try them deep-fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
this is just like the Chilean empanadas that my grandma just to make. No one understands empanadas until they have one of these little pies filled with goodness. Great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3RDTIMESACHARM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
These empanadas are delicious, and my husband, who is from peru, says they are just about like those he's eaten there. He likes them with very hot pepper salsa. I think it's important to deep fry them because they don't really have much shortening in proportion to the amount of flour. The deep frying gives them a pastry taste rather than a "biscuity" one. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
i LOVED these. our fryer doesn't work anymore so i just baked them in a 400 degree oven [coating it with a little bit of olive oil]. my whole family thought they were great. the empanadas were VERY filling but they were so good, they were all gone the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States