Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I like this recipe. The texture, consistency and flavor was very good. However, next time I will add less salt. Even though I used unsalted butter and served it with syrup it was WAY to salty. I think by reducing the salt it will be perfect. I think it's a GREAT recipe otherwise. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Gallion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This brings back such good memories of spending the weekends with my grandmother. She used to fry it up on a Saturday morning and pour maple syrup over it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Haigy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used Bob's Red Mill gluten free cornbread mix...served as cereal topped off w/earth balance butter and a pinch of brown sugar! yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Very good recipe, if you like things a little spicy, add a 1/2 tablespoon of dried crushed Red Peppers to the water before adding the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I grew up with this...love it! It's also good with cheese added and sometimes I make it with broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was delicious but did not set up very well. Not sure if I didn't cook it long enough or if it needs less water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Carr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for cornmeal mush. The proportions are perfect! I don't always fry it up though. Most of the time we just serve it in a bowl like oatmeal. It's great with milk, butter, and brown sugar or maple syrup! Much more flavorful than oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charysma88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious! Cooked the cornmeal for about 15 minutes before putting it into the loaf pan. Served with bourbon maple syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a recipe from the good ole' days. For a real treat, try using roasted cornmeal. You can find it online and it makes a world of difference for recipes like this and cornbread, or when using cornmeal for a coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Cornmeal lumps up upon hitting boiling water and would not whisk out. I ended up having to use a hand-held mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States