Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Just like I remember it as a kid! I made this, but then didn't eat it for two days because of a scheduling conflict and it was still good. I also sliced it a lot thinner than 1 inch, more like 1/4 inch because we always had it crispy, and I don't like the thought of it mushy. I poured raspberry syrup over it because it was all I had and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I love fried mush. Instead of using a loaf pan, I used a plastic container that comes with velveeta cheese. Let it thicken upside down and voila, the perfect slice size for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was a treat when I was growing up. Now my kids LOVE it. However, I make one minor change: Bring 2 cups of water to a boil. In a small bowl, combine cornmeal and the last cup of water and the salt. Stir this into the boiling water very slowly. Stir constantly until thickened. We have always eaten this with butter and syrup. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I used to eat this a child and I am going on 30 now. We allways ate it with honey on it rather then Syrup it gave it a very good flavor.. Another nice thing to do with it is sprinkle powdered sugar on it. These two ways allways seem to go over well with the kids.. It fries up easier if you coat it in a little flower and I would recomend using a splater screen because it will pop a little..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Like many others, Fried Cornmeal Mush is a trip down memory lane. My children looked at me suspiciously when I called it Fried Mush, so I quickly changed it to Fried Polenta, which has a nice ring to it. I cooked the mush on the stove top about 20 minutes, and instead of setting overnight in a loaf pan, I spread it into a greased 9x9 casserole dish, and let cool in a window sill about a half hour. I cut it into 8 rectangles, and fried it in a little oil about 3 minutes on each side. My mom used to make it with regular cornmeal, but I think the coarse grind is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
My husband requested this because his grandmother used to make it. He said it was very close, but too watery after just 1 night. It was actually the perfect consistency after 2 nights, but the downside is you have to wait that long! We put a blended mixture of butter, brown sugar, and a pinch of salt to spread on top - really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Sorry, this just did NOT work out for me...I thought I would LOVE this but I found it truly disappointing...I followed the recipe exactly (how could you not? It's so simple), but it was a huge tasteless letdown =o(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is great! My mom fixed this for us when I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I have made cornmeal mush for years. I add a little ground sausage to the boiling water before I add the cornmeal. I, also, dredge each slice of mush in flour first & then fry it--forms a crust. It does not work well to freeze the mush as it retains the water from freezing & it crumbles (from past experience). Good with any kind of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Delish! I served the mush with maple syrup on top just like my mom did when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States