Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
OMG -I am so glad I found this! Brought back memories of Sunday morning breakfast with my folks. Very easy to do and so delish if you slice it medium -1/2" thick. Fry it so its crispy on outside, creamy on inside. Thanks for taking me back home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This really is a great recipe. In South Africa we call this fried mealie meal. For a savoury twist I often add a TBlsp chopped corriander leaves or half a cup of fried bacon bits and/or chopped fried mushrooms. Sweet or savoury, this remains a firm favourite in our household!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Just like mom and grandmas...I use cooking spray in place of butter. Just lower fat this way...butter does taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I was looking for a "Scrapple" recipe. My mom made this when I was a child, she was from the south and she would boil up a ham hock or leftover ham and use the liquid and meat chunks. She never used a recipe she had it in her head, she is gone now and I get to try to reproduce it. I have never had it with syrup, but I'll give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Estacada, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Loved this growing up...still do and you can buy it at Bob Evans restaurants. My Mom used to fry up some sausage real brown, crumble it up and add to the mixture. Nice change and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My girls love fried mush from Bob Evans and now we can make something similar at home for so much less. Great recipe, but definately boil part of the water and stir the cornmeal into the remaining water (cold) and slowly add to boiling water. Stir, stir, stir for no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
We used to serve this regularly at the nursing home for breakfast. I'd forgotten all about fried cornmeal mush. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Loved It! Tastes just like what my mom used to make. We put butter and syrup on it. I like the outer crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is a great Mush recipe! It's the closest thing I've found to the one my grandma made for us kids when we were little. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My local market used to sell cornmeal mush in the refrigerator case and I guess due to east coasters really not knowing what it was, they discontinued it. My hubby and I had it at a Bob Evans when we traveled to a wedding in Chicago and loved it. Naturally, I was pretty excited when I saw it in the market knowing how much he loved it. So I searched for a recipe that would work and was pretty much unsuccessful until I found this one! This one is *perfect*! I changed nothing at all. The only thing I would do different now is double the ingredients so that I will have a loaf sized slice. I have a large loaf pan that I turned the mixture out into, so don't try this tip unless you have one of those larger Pyrex style loaf pans. My husband loved it and I can now make his favorite again. Looking at some of the other reviews that have the meat incorporated in them have piqued my interest as well! Thanks so much for posting this....we loved it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States