Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
To me this needed a little bit more flavoring. I haven't eaten this before but after I made it I found I liked the texture of it but it just needs more flavor. I will definately try this again adding spices to the mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My family doesn't do measurements but will give you the ingredients and advise to add till it looks about right...hmmm...so thanks for the correct measurements for an ideal consistency. In our family instead of dredging in flour we would use grits which I love because it gives them an extra crunchy texture. Salt and/or pepper to taste--the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I substituted (almond)milk for the water and added a drizzle of honey and brown sugar before added the cornmeal. Tasted fabulous! Very filling! I will try the frying it with a little flour and butter next time..sounds good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I've never had fried mush before so I don't have a clue how it is supposed to cook or taste, but my turned out like the picture so I think I did alright! I'm very happy with it, it's on my regular list now! I had it with veggie sausages and gravy for dinner and am looking forward to having it with breakfast tomorrow. So Mush novice says 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Just like old times. I slice it thinner, serve it with syrup. Also, I double it and boil 2 cups of water,mix cornmeal with one cup then add to boiling water. Much less opportunity for lumps. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Nope, didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Be sure to cook the cornmeal until quite a bit of the moisture has steamed off, When it is cool I slice it about 3/8 inch thich, place it flat side down on a cookie sheet sprayed with Pam, then spray the mush and broil in the oven for approximately 10 minutes, flip it over and broil the other side until it is crispy. My DH likes it with syrup but I prefer butter, salt and pepper. Ultimate comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Like a previous reviewer said, it splashes a lot. My husband thinks it's kind of bland, so next time I may add some flavors to it. Over all, the skin gives it a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I have been eating this and fried mush made from grits all my life and was very suprised to see a recipe for it. I am a senior citizen so you can see how many years it has been around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
OMG -I am so glad I found this! Brought back memories of Sunday morning breakfast with my folks. Very easy to do and so delish if you slice it medium -1/2" thick. Fry it so its crispy on outside, creamy on inside. Thanks for taking me back home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States