Fried Cornmeal Mush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I guess because I'm not a regular cornmeal eater this recipe had little appeal to my family and I. It was hard to brown in the pan and very dense...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great recipe!! Lasts quite a while in fridge too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is an awesome gluten free treat. My mother adds crumbled up cooked pork sausage while it is still warm, then pours into bread pan to set up overnight. Before frying we dredge in gluten free pancake flour to prevent splattering. Cook until golden brown and serve with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I've been making fried cornmeal mush for years, but recently started buying my cornmeal in bulk and couldn't find the recipe for making the mush! I was so happy to find the exact same recipe from the box listed here at AllRecipes. I agree with another reviewer who said if you think this needs extra spices or flavorings, you didn't grow up eating this treat. It's all in the toppings you add to it! Some people like it topped with butter and maple syrup. I like it with mustard, and my father likes to put spaghetti sauce on his. The "bland" flavor of the mush lends itself well to any number of topping combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Good but I feel it needs sugar and or vanilla mixed in to make it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
people that think this needs spices or seasoning did not grow up with this awsome breakfast treat. If you forget to make it the night before, just mix it up in the morning and drop spoonfuls into a frying pan and you'll have fried cornmeall mush in no time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was only ok - maybe a bit more interesting with some spices mixed into it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is the same recipe that is on the box and the same my grandmother made 73 years ago. Diced green chiles and sauage fried crip with a couple of eggs good south texas breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Thanks for this great recipe. My husband grew up on fried cornmeal mush. I didn't so had no idea how to make it. We can buy a loaf of it in the store but it's so much cheaper to make it at home, plus I know exactly what's in it. My kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is so delicious. I grew up with polenta (which is called cornmeal mush here). I loved the leftovers the next day fried in a pan just like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States