Fried Corn with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I have made this dish lots of times and my family loves it. A key ingredient that is not listed is Lawry's Seasoned Pepper.(I use it instead of regular peppper) If you use it, I promise you will never go back to regular black pepper, I can hardly cook anything without it! Instead of chopping an onion I use a very large yellow sweet onion which I cut in thin strips. I cook it first for several minutes then add other ingredients. I have been buying the sausage that comes without any casing. I cut into very small pieces. I also use olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Good recipe. I just leave out the MSG. No reason not to make it because the recipe calls for it. A person can always leave out any ingredient they don't care to use or are allergic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is a good recipe, For THOSE who won't or don't use MSG, the best part of being a versatile cook is to add to, or eliminate certain ingredients and make it your own. We all have different tastes, so you diversify to your liking. A great chef, Nick Stellino taught me that in his recipes and books. His motto, Make it according to the recipe the first time, then make it the way you like it...... Take out the MSG, add the Seasoned salt, some garlic, and go for the gusto. Gook basic recipe, for a simple dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was a simple, but very delicious dish, even without of the MSG. I served it with rice and it made a complete meal. Great for a busy weeknight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I split this in half and my husband and I really liked it. I followed the recipe as written and served it with a tossed salad. Yummy! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie
Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I pretty much made this according to the recipe. Just browned the sausage a little more (because we like it like that) and skipped the msg. The family said to put this into heavy rotation because they loved it. This was quick and easy so dinner was ready in a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe. Used low fat sausage and added seasoned pepper. Next time I make this I am going to try to add some rice to try to make it more of a filling meal rather than a side dish. Must try this recipe, very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I cooked rice with this and we ate with sour cream and cheese. It was filling and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Very good. I sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on top of the finished dish while still inside the pan, replaced the lid, and let the cheese melt. Served on top of white rice. Good, simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States