Fried Corn with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe for busy families. I changed this just a bit - like most, I omitted the MSG. I substituted turkey sausage and browned that first before adding the peppers and onions. I decided to get the rice cooker out and put the sausage mixture over rice. Unfortunately, that made it kind of bland for me. My DH loves spicy dishes so he added hot sauce and was happy. I am not that spicy, so I microwaved some Monterey cheese over everything and it was great. Perhaps next time I'll add a bit more spice to it, but I'm definitely going to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Really good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizardofohms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Vegetarians take note: Made this with the Field Roast applewood smoke "sausage". Didn't use MSG. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This recipe is great. I made this for my roommates and even the one that hates peppers ate it and enjoyed it. The only alteration I had to make was to take out the MSG (as I am sensitive to it). I made rice with it and was surprised to see that the entire batch was gone within an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was a surprisingly good recipe! I needed something simple and fast for dinner tonight and I had all the ingredients on hand for this dish, so I thought I'd try it. I have to admit, as I was making it, it didn't seem like a dish I would like... but I was wrong, it was very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly (minus the MSG). This would go really well with some onion-roasted diced potatoes, which I plan to try next time I make this! Sadly, my two (somewhat picky) little girls were not fans of this recipe so I won't make it as often as I'd like, but this is definitely a keeper - hopefully they will learn to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
love this recipe have made several times. and have shared it with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala Hawks- Lites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe. Everyone in my family, from my MUST-HAVE-MEAT husband to my 18-month-old love it. I've made it twice in the last two weeks. I like to cook the sausage separately so I can get it crispy and browned, and I cook the veggies longer so they're soft and sweet. I don't use MSG. I avoid that stuff in already made foods - no way am I adding it to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLaurelin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Making this recipe now. But substituting olive oil for butter and no MSG to make it healthier. I use turkey smoked sausage as well. Making with corn cut off the cob would be even better. Will do this in the summer when fresh corn comes in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is a very good and very easy to make meal... The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is I don't use MSG to flavor food. I'm am terribly allergic to MSG. So, I had to slightly increase the the amount of natural season salt, onion powder, and garlic powder. To add a little more flavor I used a pepper blend instead of black pepper. One thing I'll pass along however. The next time I make this dish I'm going to brown the sausage pieces by themselves not with the peppers and onions. All of the moisture in the peppers and onions prevented the sausage from browning (I think the crunchy texture of the fried sausage will add to the flavor and texture of the dish). Finally, The recipe calls for cooking the sausage and onions and peppers until hot 1 to 2 minutes. It took about 8 or 9 minutes to get them hot in my wok. I've added this to my recipe box and it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
used metts,hominy and hashbrowns. Follow recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States