Fried Corn with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This recipe is great. I made this for my roommates and even the one that hates peppers ate it and enjoyed it. The only alteration I had to make was to take out the MSG (as I am sensitive to it). I made rice with it and was surprised to see that the entire batch was gone within an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was a surprisingly good recipe! I needed something simple and fast for dinner tonight and I had all the ingredients on hand for this dish, so I thought I'd try it. I have to admit, as I was making it, it didn't seem like a dish I would like... but I was wrong, it was very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly (minus the MSG). This would go really well with some onion-roasted diced potatoes, which I plan to try next time I make this! Sadly, my two (somewhat picky) little girls were not fans of this recipe so I won't make it as often as I'd like, but this is definitely a keeper - hopefully they will learn to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
love this recipe have made several times. and have shared it with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala Hawks- Lites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe. Everyone in my family, from my MUST-HAVE-MEAT husband to my 18-month-old love it. I've made it twice in the last two weeks. I like to cook the sausage separately so I can get it crispy and browned, and I cook the veggies longer so they're soft and sweet. I don't use MSG. I avoid that stuff in already made foods - no way am I adding it to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLaurelin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Making this recipe now. But substituting olive oil for butter and no MSG to make it healthier. I use turkey smoked sausage as well. Making with corn cut off the cob would be even better. Will do this in the summer when fresh corn comes in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is a very good and very easy to make meal... The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is I don't use MSG to flavor food. I'm am terribly allergic to MSG. So, I had to slightly increase the the amount of natural season salt, onion powder, and garlic powder. To add a little more flavor I used a pepper blend instead of black pepper. One thing I'll pass along however. The next time I make this dish I'm going to brown the sausage pieces by themselves not with the peppers and onions. All of the moisture in the peppers and onions prevented the sausage from browning (I think the crunchy texture of the fried sausage will add to the flavor and texture of the dish). Finally, The recipe calls for cooking the sausage and onions and peppers until hot 1 to 2 minutes. It took about 8 or 9 minutes to get them hot in my wok. I've added this to my recipe box and it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
used metts,hominy and hashbrowns. Follow recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was very good & has become a regular in our house as a quick dinner! I leave out the msg. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yummy! I browned the sausage first with potatoes, I like my sausage super crispy. Didn't put in msg, just salt and pepper....mmm mm! Tasty. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I have to admit, after it was done in the skillet, I didn't think I'd like it. But it's really tasty! I followed the recipe exactly (including the Accent) except for leaving the onion powder out, because I didn't have it, but I don't think it's necessary at all. I did cook the onion and peppers longer than called for, mostly because I underestimated the amount of time cutting would take. I served it over rice. This is a really good recipe as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States