Fried Chicken with Creamy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
The key to this recipe is to simply....follow the recipe as it is written!!!! I cooked the chicken today, and my daughter loved it. To quote her..."Ma, merch! This chicken is delicious. It tastes just like KFC!!!!" For those of you who don't know what 'merch' means....it means cool! The gravy I put over garlic mashed potatoes, and added a side of Green Giant pasta & vegetables. The meal was to die for!!! Word of advice, add just a little of your favorite seasoning salt. I use Morton's Natures Seasons Seasoning Blend. I will definitely prepare this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I liked this recipe a lot. It was easy to follow and the seasonings are a tasty combination. My only complaint is I found the flavor on the chicken to be a bit faint. I think I will just increase the amount of each seasoning next time I make this so the flavor really stands out. Other than that, this was a yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I have been using the same recipe for the chicken for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Toy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I did not like this very much. It is possible that I am just not skilled enough to make it properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was so easy and so fast! I used chicken tenderloins, so it cooked in about half the time. Also, I used less oil and it worked perfectly. Love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was one of the best fried chicken I have ever had. I am a southern cook and love flavorful food. I did not make the gravy (although I can't wait to try it) b/c I made baked mac n cheese with the chicken opposed to mashed potatoes. I used all chicken breast and split them in halves. What I did different was soaked my chicken in buttermilk and salt for about 5/6 hours and instead of using garlic salt and poultry season in the flour mixture, I used garlic powder and season all along with the other recommended ingredients. I'm sure I used more spices than what was required as I didn't measure, I only eyed it up. The chicken breast was so very juicy and didn't taste greasy. This is my new found way that I will fry my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I use just about same ingredients, except the poultry seasoning. I will add that to my recipe. Two things I do different, which I read on line, is after chicken has been coated, set in fridge for a while before frying. this will make coating gooey, but oh so good. The second thing is double the gravy. I am from the South--can.t make to much gravy. even good reheated. Thanks for your recipe! Love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Good recipe. Rating 4 stars because I did not follow the seasonings exactly. I added cayenne, more garlic powder, salt, pepper, & dried thyme. I think used as written would have been too bland. And as to the complaint of too much oil: It depends on the size of pan you are using. 3 cups was perfect for me. I used a 11" cast iron skillet. The crust was very crunchy! I think its the addition of the egg. I've never used egg in my Fried Chicken recipes before. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
SUGGESTION - AS PER chefs AROUND THE COUNTRY- ONCE FINISHED BROWNING CHICKEN PLACE CHICKEN ON LARGE RACK OR 2, THEN PLACE THE RACKS ON LARGE COOKIE SHEET AND FINISH OFF IN 350 DEGREE OVEN. THIS WAY CHECKEN IS COOKED THRU, AND IS VERY CRISPY. THIS GIVES YOU LOTS OF TIME TO MAKE THAT DELICIOUS GRAVY TOO. PS - WORKS WITH FISH TOO. BEST OF GOOD EATS FROM MY SON - 'CHEF MIKE' ALABAMA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Family really enjoyed this meal and it was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Deep-Fried Creamy Chicken Gravy

Creamy, decadent, and rich fried Bechamel balls stuffed with chicken and ham.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States