Fried Chicken with Creamy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was one of the best fried chicken I have ever had. I am a southern cook and love flavorful food. I did not make the gravy (although I can't wait to try it) b/c I made baked mac n cheese with the chicken opposed to mashed potatoes. I used all chicken breast and split them in halves. What I did different was soaked my chicken in buttermilk and salt for about 5/6 hours and instead of using garlic salt and poultry season in the flour mixture, I used garlic powder and season all along with the other recommended ingredients. I'm sure I used more spices than what was required as I didn't measure, I only eyed it up. The chicken breast was so very juicy and didn't taste greasy. This is my new found way that I will fry my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I use just about same ingredients, except the poultry seasoning. I will add that to my recipe. Two things I do different, which I read on line, is after chicken has been coated, set in fridge for a while before frying. this will make coating gooey, but oh so good. The second thing is double the gravy. I am from the South--can.t make to much gravy. even good reheated. Thanks for your recipe! Love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Good recipe. Rating 4 stars because I did not follow the seasonings exactly. I added cayenne, more garlic powder, salt, pepper, & dried thyme. I think used as written would have been too bland. And as to the complaint of too much oil: It depends on the size of pan you are using. 3 cups was perfect for me. I used a 11" cast iron skillet. The crust was very crunchy! I think its the addition of the egg. I've never used egg in my Fried Chicken recipes before. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
SUGGESTION - AS PER chefs AROUND THE COUNTRY- ONCE FINISHED BROWNING CHICKEN PLACE CHICKEN ON LARGE RACK OR 2, THEN PLACE THE RACKS ON LARGE COOKIE SHEET AND FINISH OFF IN 350 DEGREE OVEN. THIS WAY CHECKEN IS COOKED THRU, AND IS VERY CRISPY. THIS GIVES YOU LOTS OF TIME TO MAKE THAT DELICIOUS GRAVY TOO. PS - WORKS WITH FISH TOO. BEST OF GOOD EATS FROM MY SON - 'CHEF MIKE' ALABAMA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Family really enjoyed this meal and it was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made this recipe for the first time. I have never made successful fried chicken . Got this recipe in my email and decided I would give it one more shot. I made it exactly like the recipe. I did not change a thing and it was awesome. My husband and 14 year old daughter said it was a definite keeper. Will not be eating fast food fried chicken any more. The gravy was a hit also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was great! Best fried chicken I've made yet!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Hirth Caldwell
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Good. Gravy a touch bland. I will add a little more spice to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Ok.In the past,I have tried to make fried chicken and it looks great but is raw underneath,or the coating falls off.Help!I want to cook this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is my dad's recipe except he used buttermilk as he always had it in the house. If you find your gravy is too funny add a slurry of cornstarch and water to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States