Fried Chicken with Creamy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Good recipe. Rating 4 stars because I did not follow the seasonings exactly. I added cayenne, more garlic powder, salt, pepper, & dried thyme. I think used as written would have been too bland. And as to the complaint of too much oil: It depends on the size of pan you are using. 3 cups was perfect for me. I used a 11" cast iron skillet. The crust was very crunchy! I think its the addition of the egg. I've never used egg in my Fried Chicken recipes before. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
SUGGESTION - AS PER chefs AROUND THE COUNTRY- ONCE FINISHED BROWNING CHICKEN PLACE CHICKEN ON LARGE RACK OR 2, THEN PLACE THE RACKS ON LARGE COOKIE SHEET AND FINISH OFF IN 350 DEGREE OVEN. THIS WAY CHECKEN IS COOKED THRU, AND IS VERY CRISPY. THIS GIVES YOU LOTS OF TIME TO MAKE THAT DELICIOUS GRAVY TOO. PS - WORKS WITH FISH TOO. BEST OF GOOD EATS FROM MY SON - 'CHEF MIKE' ALABAMA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Family really enjoyed this meal and it was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made this recipe for the first time. I have never made successful fried chicken . Got this recipe in my email and decided I would give it one more shot. I made it exactly like the recipe. I did not change a thing and it was awesome. My husband and 14 year old daughter said it was a definite keeper. Will not be eating fast food fried chicken any more. The gravy was a hit also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was great! Best fried chicken I've made yet!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Hirth Caldwell
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Good. Gravy a touch bland. I will add a little more spice to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Ok.In the past,I have tried to make fried chicken and it looks great but is raw underneath,or the coating falls off.Help!I want to cook this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is my dad's recipe except he used buttermilk as he always had it in the house. If you find your gravy is too funny add a slurry of cornstarch and water to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
If you think this I good, try frying it in a cast iron skillet! Just like I used to make when I was younger. I am 69 now. The best thing to use is the seasoned flour. Maybe just add some more pepper. Definitely double the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUTHIEV
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is the best fried chicken I've ever made. For the simple reasons being that I doubled the spices, used a cast iron skillet, and soaked the chicken overnight in milk (with some apple cider vinegar in it). I rinsed off the milk & patted dry with paper towels. Another key is to not have the chicken too cold so I left it out for about 30 minutes after drying it. This way it doesn't bring the temperature of the oil down and you have a nice crispy coating. The gravy was over the moon good too! I made skillet biscuits before frying the chicken too. And an apple skillet cake before that in the morning. It was a wonderful Sunday Skillet Supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States