Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Followed it to a "T," and got a ruined mess of inedible overcooked lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Painter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I pressure cook my gizzards for about 3 minutes. Makes them very tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Terrible !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Its alot like the way I do them. Two words people, pressure cooker! Not sure what that par-boiling is all about. Drain them, pat dry and fry them. Mine you can cut with a fork, I kid you not. Try it you will be amazed, and you will wonder, what was I doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very tender and yummy!!! it takes a little while but well worth the tenderness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
The cooking time was way too long! Wish I would have read the other reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The ingredients are Okay, but the deep frying isn't necessary. This is how it was fried in my Spanish family for over 50 years. Rinse the gizzards. Put the flour in a zip-lock bag with the S&P. Add the gizzards and toss until thorougly coated. Shake off excess flour and fry on medium heat in 2-1/2 TBS olive oil along with some diced onion & 1 garlic clove. When browned, add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of chicken broth. Bring to a boil, lower heat to low, cover fry pan and simmer for 1-1/2 to 2 hours. The gizzards will be very tender, and flavorful. YUMMO. You can sub garlic salt in flour, for the garlic clove in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I boiled ours for about 5-7 mins (until they started turning gray). Then I DIPPED THEM IN EGG first after they cooled. We also put a little soy sauce in the egg. And some seasoning salt in the flower mixture. It gave it such great flavor that really complimented each other!! I didn't use garlic power and we used a deep fryer. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Recipe should include a moisture wash for coating, which I did with the egg, a little water and the hot sauce. Big problem here is the parboiling which I think takes out a lot of the flavor of the gizzards themselves. The coating was good but I missed the natural flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njbruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These sure didn't come out like I expected they would..... I have had fried gizzards before and these were far below par. Ill have to try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States