Fried Chicken Chunks (Chicharrones De Pollo) Dominican Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I have never had Dominican food before but was looking for a Spanish Chicken recipe to serve with Spanish Rice and Tostones.This was so good and different.My family of 5 ate it all up and they are usually kinda picky.I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have Corn Oil so used Vegetable Oil for frying instead.Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cubanita9537
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Used Bacardi Limon instead of rum and then squeezed some lemon on top. Loved it!!! Fried it in deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
It was a great last minute recipe. Can't ever go wrong with homemade food! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Tasted ok... But being born and raised for a good part of my life in the DR, I will say with 100% certainty, Dominicans back home do NOT ever add Rum to the chicharrones! and I mean EVER! we do have some of the best rum, but we just do not add to this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was good. I'm dominican and remember when I lived there our maids used to make it all the time, they didn't add rum, they drank it! Try drinking it it will taste better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcintyreknox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made this tonight & it was absolutely DELISH! just like being in the DR!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as specified since it was my first time making it minus the goya sazon. I made my own sazon (ground coriander, ground annato, salt, garlic powder, ground cumin, onion powder) since I can't have msg, but this turned out to be quite delicious. The chicken came out so crunchy yet tender which was perfect. Since I live in NYC and grew up around Dominicans, I disagree with the review which disclaims this recipe as not truly Dominican. This recipe tastes very authentic to me, although I do recognize that there are many variations for the chicharrones de Pollo recipe from my experience. Save a restaurant quality recipe, this is definitely one of the better versions I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I did the recipe, step by step and did not come out as expected. The only way I was able to enhance the flavour was with Lime (lots of it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Great recipe! My Husband is Dominican and he said that it reminded him of DR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
The 1/2 cup minced garlic made me doubtful! But I made it because this was a food I enjoyed in Dominican Republic - great beach food, & great for a late night snack on the "Malecon" (main road along the ocean)! I followed it exactly except I made up a version of the Goya Sazon seasoning based on its label's ingredients. (I love Goya's products, but their Sazon is mostly MSG, salt & artificial colorants!!) I WILL make it again, next time with Sazon, & I WILL update this review with the results ~ & hopefully give it more stars. (To those concerned about the rum in this, know that recipes having alcohol which are then cooked means the alcohol will evaporate.) UPDATE: I made this a 2nd time, exactly as written, using Goya's Sazon this time & Daisy Martinez' Dry Adobo seasoning blend (from another site) - except I did let it marinate about 20 hours. The 2-inch chunks were fried at 300 F for 3 minutes. When eaten freshly hot, it was steamy & the rum's flavor was obvious, but the garlic was not overwhelming. We did prefer it at room temperature. It is very tasty in its own right, but tasted nothing at all like all the Chicharrones de Pollo I had in Dominican Rep. The only similarity was the fried flour coating, but I remember a thicker & seasoned coating, so try some chunks double dipped in seasoned flour. Even though Dom. Rep. is a rum producer, I know they don't use rum in the Chicharrones' marinade. I'll still give this 4-1/2 stars, as it was very tasty in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States