Fried Cauliflower (Egyptian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent. I made way too much and gave the excess to my neighbor. Now they want me to make it again! Big Hit with any dipping sauce you like or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Blending all the ingredients together wasn't the best idea...the batter was too runny...and when I added more flour...it was clumpy! I had to result to starting from scratch. I placed the flour in a separate bowl....then, I placed the eggs and milk in another bowl. I dipped the cauliflower into the wet mixture and coated them into the dry mixture....Done deal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Eliminated step one as suggested. I used 1 tablespoon tomato powder instead of paste, put in 2 tsp of cumin (instead of 1), 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp of salt into the batter. Adding enough milk for a thick batter (bit more then cake like). Just hand whisked the batter in a small bowl. Fried them in coconut oil. Beautiful color, just a bit snappy on the inside for a nice crunch, great flavor. Def. a winner with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe was really different from what I normally do and it was a great change. I found that the batter was a little bland for me and I needed a lot more than 1/4 cup of milk. Maybe if I added cornmeal like NINhalos suggested or if you use dip it would come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NINhalos
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Excellent flavor. Needed to use more than 1/4 cup of milk to make the batter less dough-like and more batter-like. If you want the fried cauliflower to be crunchier, then add cornmeal to the batter. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I just made this recipe and I love it! It's hard to get my vegatarian brother to eat anything, but with this, I had to slap his hands away from the dish. Will definitely be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I love this recipe! I normally steam the cauliflower and just pan fry, but this was nice for a change. I served it as an appetizer with a dip that I make from low fat sour cream, cumin and olive oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was a fantastic recipe, but the first step of effectively blanching the cauliflower in cumin scented water is totally unnecessary. The florets cook to perfection when just dipped in the batter and fried - also, the batter sticks more easily to the uncooked pieces. Want to save more time? The use of the food processor to make the batter is overkill as far as dishes and equipment go (or maybe I am just lazy). Just whip it up in a bowl (the same one you will use to dip the florets in). So save yourself the hassle of step 1 and part of step 2 and make this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States