Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was really tasty. I only had 1/2 a head of cabbage so I used about 1/4 - 1/2 t of sea salt. Made with "Pork Chops with Blue Cheese Gravy" and "Strawberry Spinach Salad I". The gravy from the pork chops complimented the cabbage side dish very well (to my surprise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This one blasts the meat off the bone! Pork fat, onion, garlic (preferably fresh), and cabbage is a Tennessee staple overlooked by the rest of the country (too bad). Thanks for sharing this recipe with the community. My 1/4 Cherokee friend/co-worker raved about this recipe for years. It always sounded too greasy, until I tried it......OMG! It's sooooooo comforting. He used 'fatback' (smoked pork fat)===less salty than bacon and no nitrites. Anyway, a great southern recipe, and I'm glad you shared it. P.S. Try some red Savoy cabbage with the green kind. It doesn't wilt so much and has a sweeter flavor. I'd like to see a good recipe for baked beans, Southern Style! Mitchy48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchy48

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I thought I would want more bacon, but I stuck to the recipe and it was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Photo by Kathi Richards Smith
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I would like to thank everyone who took the time to write a review. Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Kathi Smith
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Richards Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oolitic, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Editor's note: The salt amount for this recipe was reduced from 3 tablespoons to 1 tablespoon by the Allrecipes staff on 7/17/2009.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Excellent,I use less salt also, and I added package of thin spaghetti (cooked and cut in half) makes it a meal in itself. A friend from the Carolina's gave me this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy A Lepera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very good! I added sea salt to taste & then followed the recipe as stated and it came out perfect. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I loved this recipe! I used it for my first time cooking cabbage and it came out beautifully. I love greens cooked with hamhocks and the bacon adds a good flavor to the cabbage. Putting this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I had a small head of cabbage that I had grown in my garden & only 3 slices of bacon, so I cut back on the rest of the ingredients and it did not effect the taste. Awesome! Our family demolished this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Made this on Saturday for my daughter's graduation party on Sunday. Outstanding. It was a hit with all of the polish relatives and even the non-polish! The night we made it I decided to add some spaetzels. I sampled it and thought it was OK. The next day, we warmed it and tried it again....it was excellent! I doubled the recipe, used 1lb of bacon and added the spaetzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States