Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathi Richards Smith
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I would like to thank everyone who took the time to write a review. Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Kathi Smith
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Richards Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oolitic, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
(6/15/09) This was excellent. I did use less salt than specified but this recipe is definitely one I'll make again and again. Thanks for sharing it MrsMDSmith (and calling my attention to it on the exchange; it was perfect timing as I was looking for a side to go with dinner!) *(6/18/09 Update)* I wanted to stop by again to thank you MrsMDSmith. You not only gave me a delicious side dish but I used the leftovers to make a main dish that I will probably also do again and again. I chopped the leftovers and mixed in 1/2 lb. of seasoned browned ground pork, rolled in egg roll wrappers and fried to golden perfection. I love a recipe that can give me two distinct meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This one blasts the meat off the bone! Pork fat, onion, garlic (preferably fresh), and cabbage is a Tennessee staple overlooked by the rest of the country (too bad). Thanks for sharing this recipe with the community. My 1/4 Cherokee friend/co-worker raved about this recipe for years. It always sounded too greasy, until I tried it......OMG! It's sooooooo comforting. He used 'fatback' (smoked pork fat)===less salty than bacon and no nitrites. Anyway, a great southern recipe, and I'm glad you shared it. P.S. Try some red Savoy cabbage with the green kind. It doesn't wilt so much and has a sweeter flavor. I'd like to see a good recipe for baked beans, Southern Style! Mitchy48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchy48

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I've been eating cabbage prepared this way all my life (love it!) but never to the point where the onions were caramelized. It was nice, but there wasn't enough of a difference that it's worth the extra time it takes to get them to that point. I didn't add the onion powder, garlic powder (there's already fresh minced garlic) or paprika. I like it just fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Editor's note: The salt amount for this recipe was reduced from 3 tablespoons to 1 tablespoon by the Allrecipes staff on 7/17/2009.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I thought I would want more bacon, but I stuck to the recipe and it was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was good. I did drain a little of the bacon grease prior to adding the cabbage it just looked like too much grease for me. As far as the salt goes, I only added about 1/2tsp. at first (I was only using 1/2 a fairly small cabbage. AT first, before simmering for 30 minutes it tasted just right for us. Then, after the simmer, I tasted before serving and the salt had almost disappered so I added a few sprinkles more. I can see if you have a huge cabbage where you may need quite a bit. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Yummy, yummy, yummy. I replaced the 3 tablespoons of salt with seasoned salt added to taste and I cooked the cabbage on medium until just tender. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe! My change...Olive oil and real bacon bits, instead of cooking the bacon and using the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We loved this. I put in one shredded carrot for colour. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States