Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Yummy, yummy, yummy. I replaced the 3 tablespoons of salt with seasoned salt added to taste and I cooked the cabbage on medium until just tender. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
(6/15/09) This was excellent. I did use less salt than specified but this recipe is definitely one I'll make again and again. Thanks for sharing it MrsMDSmith (and calling my attention to it on the exchange; it was perfect timing as I was looking for a side to go with dinner!) *(6/18/09 Update)* I wanted to stop by again to thank you MrsMDSmith. You not only gave me a delicious side dish but I used the leftovers to make a main dish that I will probably also do again and again. I chopped the leftovers and mixed in 1/2 lb. of seasoned browned ground pork, rolled in egg roll wrappers and fried to golden perfection. I love a recipe that can give me two distinct meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
The only thing I didn't like was the 3 tablespoons of salt. I only added 1 tablespoon but that was still very, very salty. Everything else I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathi Richards Smith
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I would like to thank everyone who took the time to write a review. Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Kathi Smith
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Richards Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oolitic, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was really tasty. I only had 1/2 a head of cabbage so I used about 1/4 - 1/2 t of sea salt. Made with "Pork Chops with Blue Cheese Gravy" and "Strawberry Spinach Salad I". The gravy from the pork chops complimented the cabbage side dish very well (to my surprise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Excellent,I use less salt also, and I added package of thin spaghetti (cooked and cut in half) makes it a meal in itself. A friend from the Carolina's gave me this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDY1233

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This one blasts the meat off the bone! Pork fat, onion, garlic (preferably fresh), and cabbage is a Tennessee staple overlooked by the rest of the country (too bad). Thanks for sharing this recipe with the community. My 1/4 Cherokee friend/co-worker raved about this recipe for years. It always sounded too greasy, until I tried it......OMG! It's sooooooo comforting. He used 'fatback' (smoked pork fat)===less salty than bacon and no nitrites. Anyway, a great southern recipe, and I'm glad you shared it. P.S. Try some red Savoy cabbage with the green kind. It doesn't wilt so much and has a sweeter flavor. I'd like to see a good recipe for baked beans, Southern Style! Mitchy48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchy48

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I'm only giving this a four because I havn't tried it yet, but I love cabbage and this really looks like a winner! Although...it may be the German in me...but I'm tempted to add a tad of cider vinegar and sugar. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very good! I added sea salt to taste & then followed the recipe as stated and it came out perfect. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I like mine a little "hot"...so I added diced up jalapenos from a jar to give it a lil kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Juan, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States