Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I like salty foods, but holy cow, this was salty! It was an excellent dish, but I would only use 1 tsp. of salt next time (and there will definitely be a next time!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mancelona, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
A. Mazing. Perfect side dish, though I have to admit I've been eating it all by itself (and cold!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I had a small cabbage so used just 2t salt & it was still quite salty. Not unbearably salty, but that's the immediate thought after taking the first bite. 'Think this is one I'd for sure eat if someone else made it, but not make again myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Used a smaller head of cabbage so I did not use exact measurements but used all ingredients. Removed bacon prior to adding cabbage as suggested by other reviewers and returned to cabbage after turning off heat. Will add to the recipe rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I had some cabbage in the fridge and thought I would give this a try, found the recipe on pinterest. I used turkey bacon and did not add any additional salt, we loved it! The only thing I didn't do was add the bacon back in with the cabbage while it cooked, we like our bacon crispy and this dish definitely needed an addition of some sort of crunchy texture. We added chicken sausage to make it a meal, thinking next time I will use tofu for an Asian inspired dish. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this as written and didn't care for it. I"ll make my regular steamed cabbage from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I love this recipe!! I used the bacon ends I had in the freezer and it worked very well. The salt is apparently and issue. I used just a teaspoon of salt this time and would probably omit it all together next time. (I cannot believe the original recipe called for 3 Tablespoons!!) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I'm with Naples34102 on this one! I, too, was raised up eating cabbage this way and this is my standard way of preparing it for my family...also minus the onion/garlic powders, paprika and caramelizing of the onion. It's tasty w/o doing or adding all that. A really easy and great way to fix cabbage. And, to simplify it even further try stir-frying the chopped cabbage in a little butter and salt/pepper to taste. That's good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Wow, wow, wow!!! This recipe is unbelievable! I cut the salt in half--at least, added 3 cloves of garlic, and added just a bit of crushed pepper flakes. This is a recipe I will make again, and again, and again. I am on a low carb diet, and cabbage is a low carb veggie--so this recipe fits quite well into a low carb diet. Thanks for sharing it! Note added: Using fresh garlic is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camelknees33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Made this recipe tonight as a side dish and it was wonderful! Didn't change a thing and will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States