Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Bacon is salty enough as is, I definitely didn't need a tbsp of salt. I think I used about 1/4 tbsp of garlic salt in the end. Okay dish, I added some noodles to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Took the ingredients over to my Mom's house and the 2 of us had a good time making this dish, I deviated a bit, using more bacon, only 1 clove of garlic and I made a batch of egg noodles to cook into it. Was really good and aroma persisted through the next day so it was very pleasing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
very simple and easy to make....I did use a small head of cabbage since that is what i had,and omitted the onion and garlic powder and added more of the real stuff during the cooking... I also add a ring of kielbasi and some egg noodles..which makes it more of a meal rather than a side dish...I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We all really liked this one. Will definitely be making again! January 2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Cross Lanes, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was excellent. I served it with ham, potato salad and black-eyed peas on New Year's Day. I didn't use all of the onion called for, nor did I use onion powder (didn't have it). Like other reviewers, I cut the salt back (to 1tsp). Only a small dish left, and I intend to eat that as a snack later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! We enjoyed this very much. I had a head of cabbage I needed to use and this recipe sounded simple and quick, which I was also looking for. My family enjoyed it as well. I didn't measure the salt just added it slowly and tasted often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious and reminds me of a dish my Polish grandmother used to make. I do add chunks of potatoes along with the seasonings and it makes a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Added some more ginger, soy sauce and a little bit of brown sugar. It was great! But the original recipe is great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
If it weren't for the amount of pepper, this would've been a 5 star++ rating for us! It was so overwhelmingly peppery, I feel "Pepper" should be in the recipes name. Fantastic flavor other than that(I did only use 1 tsp of salt). I don't think the garlic powder was necessary either, since it already has minced garlic. My preference, I suppose. Thanks, Kathi! We'll definately be having this again but will use half the pepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great! goes great with jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States