Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Made this last night. There are no leftovers!!! YUMMY........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daytiana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I've been eating cooked/steamed cabbage all my life & NEVER has it tasted this good!! All the spices & carmelizing the onions..over the top! I've since used ham or sausage (out of bacon)with this recipe & it's stiil wonderful. I do not cook the cabbage for as long as instructed as I don't care for super-wilted cabbage. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I took the bacon out when it was crisp, chopped it, and added it back in for the last 10 minutes of simmer. Next time I'll probably use only a teaspoon (or less) of salt, as the bacon adds plenty on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I like salty foods, but holy cow, this was salty! It was an excellent dish, but I would only use 1 tsp. of salt next time (and there will definitely be a next time!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mancelona, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
A. Mazing. Perfect side dish, though I have to admit I've been eating it all by itself (and cold!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I had a small cabbage so used just 2t salt & it was still quite salty. Not unbearably salty, but that's the immediate thought after taking the first bite. 'Think this is one I'd for sure eat if someone else made it, but not make again myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Used a smaller head of cabbage so I did not use exact measurements but used all ingredients. Removed bacon prior to adding cabbage as suggested by other reviewers and returned to cabbage after turning off heat. Will add to the recipe rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I had some cabbage in the fridge and thought I would give this a try, found the recipe on pinterest. I used turkey bacon and did not add any additional salt, we loved it! The only thing I didn't do was add the bacon back in with the cabbage while it cooked, we like our bacon crispy and this dish definitely needed an addition of some sort of crunchy texture. We added chicken sausage to make it a meal, thinking next time I will use tofu for an Asian inspired dish. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this as written and didn't care for it. I"ll make my regular steamed cabbage from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States