Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was VERY good! I love the smokiness from the bacon. This dish has a nice sweet/savory balance. I made it as written except I added some grated parmesan cheese and served this over egg noodles as a main dish. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This turned out really good even though I'm not a huge fan of cabbage. My husband and 18-month-old son gobbled it up. I halved the salt, left out the onion powder (I didn't have any) and added half a pound of sliced mushrooms while I was sauteing the onions and garlic; when I make it again I'll try it with the onion powder and I might use a larger head of cabbage because it cooks down a ton. I served it with maple mashed sweet potatoes and a roast chicken made with smoked paprika and herbs. Delicious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patty noble
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Pretty yummy and really easy to make. Made it with red cabbage and added a commercially prepared balsamic syrup for a little zing, mixed it all with some farmer's sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty noble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This has become a side-dish we use a couple of times a month. We're on a special diet that is low-carb but fat is okay, so we're eating yummy food AND losing weight! I will sometimes make a double batch if we have people over or want lots of yummy leftovers. I always thought I hated cabbage until eating it this way. We have a supplier up here called Cash & Carry where we get 5lb bags of shredded red cabbage to making it couldn't be easier (unless I could get pre-sliced sweet onions from the same place). I usually beef up the garlic considerably, and we always add a pinch or two of fennel seeds to make the cabbage a little less gassy. Thanks again - fantastic recipe and I'm a fussy cook and fussy eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love this recipe! I make this all the time but had never added bacon to it. I used real bacon bits since I refuse to spatter my kitchen with grease, it was delicious! I cooked the bacon bits with olive oil and the onion, fresh garlic and some chopped cilantro, I added the cabbage, which I cheated on and bought a big 3 pound bag of shredded cole slaw mix from Sam's, this way it's much more colorful and saves me some work, seasoned it to taste and tossed it with some whole wheat pasta. Voila, dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
it was just ok, for some reason it tasted bitter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've cook this dish several times for family and friends. Simple recipe to follow and you can't go wrong. I've also added red cabbage and or onions just give it a little more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I found this recipe when I had an inkling to put garlic with cabbage, which I'd never done, this recipe popped up through google search. My ingredients: green cabbage/ 1pound of loose leaf spinach/ 4tomatillas red oninon/ bulb of garlic-yes I used all cloves in bulb lol/ 6slices of oven cooked bacon/ 2 chicken flavored boullion packets/ sauteed onion/tomatillas/garlic 1st in butter&oil mixture then as veggies carmelized I added all veggies/boullion packets then bacon crumpled last, it turned out PHENOMENALLY yUMMy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRiNCESSgIgI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I have been making this for years, but I also add some crushed red pepper flakes for just a little bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
great...but, too much salt, use fresh pepper & garlic... maybe a little butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Bear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States