Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Like mitchy48, I used salt pork instead and used both green and purple cabbage and sprinkled just a little white sugar in while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nonnaoftwo
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was a HUGE hit in my family. I made 3 huge pans full in the last week & making a fourth tonight. I cook it in a extra large frying pan & never used a lid. Didn't add much salt since bacon already has a lot of sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Just had this for dinner the best I've had.so glad I kept recipe.will make this more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was an amazingly wasy recipe to make. As I had all my ingredients in the pot and was getting ready to add the spices I realized I didn't have the onion powder or the garlic powder....ooopps! So I improvised and used the Epicure onion three dip mix instead and it added great flavour. Will use this recipe again and again. Have shared it a few times already :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Just made it and i loved it. I did double the bacon and added mushrooms with the onions and garlic but perfect recipe, we will definitely make again. Was on the fence about making it but very happy wedid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I put in kielbasa sausage and that made it an entire main dish!! Great flavor and didn't take any time to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This had so much bacon fat in it. I would do it again and add some olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was so good! Reminded me of the fried cabbage that my Hungarian grandma would make, although she cooked it down quite a bit more and then mixed it with cooked noodles - yum. For those that rated it low because of saltiness, the recipe did say "or to taste". When I make a recipe I rarely use as much salt as the recipe states. I waited until the cabbage was almost cooked through before even adding any salt. Or another way is to salt the raw cabbage and let sit for awhile, rinse and squeeze until almost dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Finally! A recipe for cabbage that the whole family likes. :D We have several "tender tongues", so in the future I will adjust the pepper down a bit for our tastes. Still, highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States