Fried Cabbage Texas Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I followed recipe exactly. The corn bread mixture intrigued me but I was skeptical. I turned out to be right. First of all, the amount of bacon fat was not enough to cook all that cabbage (which was a tiny head) - I should have stopped right there and started to make changes - but I didn't. The cabbage starting sticking to the bottom of the pan because there wasn't enough fat and the cabbage was weighed down by the corn bread mixture (which was not a lot of corn bread mixture for the small cabbage - thank goodness). I finally had to intervene and add some oil - I should have added butter. Anyway, if I ever cooked this again, which I doubt, I would forget the corn bread mix and just add the cayenne pepper. I will continue to look for more ways to cook cabbage, but anyone looking at this recipe might try "Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage" which is on this site. We loved it - it has been reviewed by many. Living in the East and never tasting Indiana or Texas Cabbage - my vote is for Indiana. P.S. - Not only were there leftovers - the vote was to deep six the leftovers. That didn't happen when I served the Indiana style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Making this, I was unsure about it but it was delicious enough for me to get a heaping 2nds. The corn bread mix gave the dish a nice flavor and texture to to it! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
My husband, newphew and his wife feasted on this recipe. I added mild cheddar cheese to it. will make again everyone thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I modified this recipe slightly--using about half of the ingredients. Quite tasty and hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magra2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I found this fried cabbage recipe to be extremely good. It's the best I ever tasted. This is a recipe Ican assure you that your whole family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Footnotes Caution When handling hot peppers of any kind , always wash hands or use gloves and do not rub face or eyes. Just a suggestion on the footnote: If you put vegetable oil on your hands prior to handling the hot peppers, you won't feel the burning sensations later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
VERY GOOD!My husband asked me to make this twice within 4 days!Good Job, TEX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Fried some skinless kielbasa and added back into cabbage before serving. I make fried cabbage often, but have never made it with the cornmeal in it. LOVED it. The jalepenos were a great addition too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Awesome!!! Cabbage is not something I would normally make, but my mom gave me some from her garden so I tried this and my husband and I LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made this for my roommate (female) and one of our friends (male) and it was a success with both. I really enjoy the spicy side of it. The corbread mix was a great idea as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States