Fried Cabbage Texas Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
VERY GOOD!My husband asked me to make this twice within 4 days!Good Job, TEX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
We really liked this. I even zipped it up a little more with some Creole Seasoning. My husband especially liked it. We will definately be having this one again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I followed recipe exactly. The corn bread mixture intrigued me but I was skeptical. I turned out to be right. First of all, the amount of bacon fat was not enough to cook all that cabbage (which was a tiny head) - I should have stopped right there and started to make changes - but I didn't. The cabbage starting sticking to the bottom of the pan because there wasn't enough fat and the cabbage was weighed down by the corn bread mixture (which was not a lot of corn bread mixture for the small cabbage - thank goodness). I finally had to intervene and add some oil - I should have added butter. Anyway, if I ever cooked this again, which I doubt, I would forget the corn bread mix and just add the cayenne pepper. I will continue to look for more ways to cook cabbage, but anyone looking at this recipe might try "Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage" which is on this site. We loved it - it has been reviewed by many. Living in the East and never tasting Indiana or Texas Cabbage - my vote is for Indiana. P.S. - Not only were there leftovers - the vote was to deep six the leftovers. That didn't happen when I served the Indiana style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
If you like spicy foods and cabbage, this it a great recipe. My family and friends loved it the first time I made it, and requested the recipe. My husband also made it at the fire station and the guys loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
We loved it! We both like fried cabbage, but loved the jalapeno and the corn bread in it for a change. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I'm from Texas & my grandmother used to make foods like this when I was growing up. I made this with pork chops and cornbread. I don't really eat foods like this anymore, so the bacon grease was a little overwhelming for me, but the guys in my house absolutely loved it. They both had seconds. I usally have to beg to get them to eat even one serving of veges. The only thing I changed was adding more japs, we like things very hot& spicy. I will definetly be making this for them again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made this for my roommate (female) and one of our friends (male) and it was a success with both. I really enjoy the spicy side of it. The corbread mix was a great idea as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
My husband, newphew and his wife feasted on this recipe. I added mild cheddar cheese to it. will make again everyone thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is great everyone I have served loved this dish. GOOD JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was excellent. As an Ex Texan I find myself missing certain dishes at times.... this is one of them. I added shredded carrots, a few sprinkles of garlic powder and a green pepper while sauteing the onion. I also added Lawry's Seasoning to the Cayenne/Cornbread mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States