Fried Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
OMG Jen - Thank you so much. This review is from a person who had to go outside when my mom or anyone cooked cabbage! Could not stand the smell. This recipe is great. The only thing I did different and proably everyone else knew to do this - but I have never, ever cooked cabbage - I did add salt and pepper and covered it to help wilt the cabbage faster. Not for too long and when thoroughly cooked, it was still a little crisp and delicious. I loved it and my family did as well. I am 67 y/o and considered to be a good cook in my circle, but this recipe absolutely tops all of mine. Thank you so very much. A fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I did a vegetarian version - loved this dish. I fried onion and a clove of garlic in butter rather than bacon, and added balsamic vinegar rather than cider - it was delicious, will definetly be making agin. (I served it with a cheesy tomato vegetable casserole and it was great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I am not sure what those who gave the recipe "mediocre" or bad ratings were expecting. As one can see, it is a very simple recipe with a very simple result. I would not omit the vinegar, as in such a small amount compared to the volume of cabbage, i dont feel that it could be offensive. but i do think it adds a subtle and important flavor. I also suggest increasing the amount of bacon to your taste. I mean, its bacon, so the more the merrier. i used 5 slices. also, this is one of those dishes that makes for leftovers that get better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This is absolutely WONDERFUL. I covered it after sauteeing the cabbage and bacon together. After sauteeing, I cooked 20-30 minutes covered, and put in the splash of vinegar (balsamic, since I didn't have cider), and it was just incredible!!!! I NEVER liked cabbage before, was sort of indifferent towards it, but this recipe is INCREDIBLE!!! Yum yum yum!!!!! This stuff cooks down so very sweet, and I never added sugar...! GOLLY, how wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
We love this stuff! I use an entire head of cabbage, a whole pound of bacon and sprinkle a little garlic powder on the cabbage while it's cooking. I use lots more vinegar than called for and no water, just splash it on right from the bottle. We love the tang of the vinegar. We can make a meal of this alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Let's just say that my fiance has never before brought up dinner two hours later and thanked me again. What a hit! This is top notch comfort food. I used butter and omitted the bacon all together. I just can't bring myself to cook with bacon fat - sorry! We used a little extra vinegar as well. This is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
Very enjoyable. Much better tasting than plain fried cabbage with a little bacon drippings. If you like spicier, might try sauteing some sliced banana peppers with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Tastes like chinese food! So delicious! Next time I will add more bacon! this is a keeper and I am 12 years old!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Maybe I didn't use enough cabbage (I just used 1 large bag of pre-shredded coleslaw) but the cidar vinegar slightly overpowered the dish. It wasn't bad and I might try playing around with this in the future to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States