Fried Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is a super easy recipe that tastes great! I had a head of cabbage that needing using and decided to give this recipe a try. I made a few changes. I used a pound of italian sausage instead of the bacon because while bacon is delicious it is a greasy mess to make. I didn't need to worry about removing the sausage before adding the cabbage which made the recipe easier. I don't like to measure much so I just used the whole head of cabbage. And I definitely used more cider vinegar. I would just adjust to taste. Everything else stayed the same. The kids. dad, and I all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I love it but my kids didn't go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delicious! Just like my Aunt's and exactly what I wanted. The only thing I did differently was use 5 slices of bacon and I left all the drippings in the pan. Used the apple cider vinegar at the end to deglaze. Oh, and I cooked mine longer until it had some nice color and that yummy caramelization. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had somebody gve me a big cabbage and 5 onions so this is recipe i came up with. I'm vegetarian so i used butter, simple but yummy. I have only used cabbage for coleslaw, so thank you for idea even though i had to change it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
We loved this. I used very lean bacon, and ended up throwing in a dab of butter too. I had no cider vinegar, so we skipped the vinegar, but I cannot wait to try it with vinegar. I knew the white vinegar would not be the same. I added a pinch of Stevia instead of sugar since we are on a low carb diet. My husband and I both agreed, best cabbage we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this last night...and it was so awesomely simple to make and the flavor was...omg....I couldn't stop eating it!! Made this years ago, but never thought to splash it with the vinegar....Thank you so much for a GREAT recipe!!! I did do 2 things different...used chicken broth instead of water and used purple onion for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I love this!!! I (of course if you knew me) added more bacon. I omitted the sugar and added just a touch of soy sauce. Yummmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
could do without the vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. v

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is one of my favorite comfort foods. I make mine a little different though. I always add about 3 potatoes, and some crushed red pepper. Sometimes adding either or both ham (instead of bacon) and mushrooms. It makes it more of a complete meal. I never add vinegar or sugar. Pile it all in the pan and add about a cup of water put the cover on and let it simmer down till all the water is gone and the potatoes are done. I like it all mashed up together in my bowl with butter!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I love the ease of preparation of this recipe. My family really loved the the flavor. Even my son (who hates cabbage) gave it 3 stars. The vinegar was the added extra touch to this easy, flavorful dish. As with ANY cabbage dish, DO NOT OVER COOK the cabbage, and DO NOT USE ALUMINUM PANS. Cabbage contains isothiocynates that break down into smelly sulfur compounds during cooking. The reaction is even stronger in aluminum pans. The longer the cabbage is cooked the more smelly the compounds become. The solution; a brief cooking time. Cook just until tender and use stainless steel pots and pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States