Fried Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
We cooked up some bacon first, and used the fat instead of part of the butter. That was pretty good, but next time we will use another apple and replace the brown sugar with Maple Syrup. This is fun! This recipe is going to evolve at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Ah yes, long ago I learned that cooked cabbage loses it's smell and mellows it's flavour when a little acid (tomatoes for example) has been added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I love this recipe, simple and easy. I like to increase the vinegar by quite a bit, and the sugar a little bit. Maybe 3 Tablespoons each, so it's sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
this is very good.I halved the recipe but used only 1tart apple. added 1teaspoon caraway seeds and 1small onion for more flavor and used 1teaspn apple cider vinegar. I mixed it with some leftover cooked pasta and it was a delicious side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I make this for every holiday! I use 2 large Granny Smith apples. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Stith Bolton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe. Even the picky teenager! We did make the main dish change-up and added a little sauteed onion. The variations are endless!! And I'm off to the kitchen, 'cause we are having again tonight....yippee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I made this last night to use a cabbage I got in the St. Patrick's Day parade. Used two gala apples and cut the butter to 2 tablespoons. That said, simple and delicious! The cabbage stayed a bit crunchy, but that's how I like it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Fabulous...and easy. I used red cabbage and apple cider vinegar. Added some cooked sausage as well. I will even eat this cold. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I was skeptical but this is delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We just tried this and it was fantastic!!!Thanks Jeanie Bean for a really easy fall time recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States