Fried Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very nice. Based on previous reviews, I used only 2 granny smith apples and threw in a chopped onion as well as used about 1/2 the butter. Really enjoyed it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I went the sausage/egg noodle main dish route, using "banger" style English sausage, which seems to match the cabbage and apples well. It all could use a bit more flavor though. Perhaps cooking the sausage first in the same pan and using some of the fat in place of some of the butter would give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This was easy. There was nothing wrong with this I just didn't like the taste too much apple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I love cabbage more than any vegetable and this is the best recipe ever. (Without the apples of course) Not an apple fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I found this recipe to be easy and very tasty. Even my 3 year old ate it! I originally worried about the taste of vinegar but it boils down, and the brown sugar adds just the right amount of sweetness. This is one of my favorite recipes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 37cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I used this recipe the first time I fried cabbage, and it's very simple and easy. And best of all the whole family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This went well with us today. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar and left out the apples by choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very good tasting...but the apples make the difference! I used a tart apple...Granny Smith...and it really offset the more milder taste of the cabbage. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I loved this, hubs not as much. But I love sauerkraut and cabbage soups, etc. so this was right up my alley. Couldn't be easier. And almost turns out like a warm sauerkraut. I added a bit of onion, garlic powder and pinch of red pepper flake. This was the cabbage dish I served with my re-done St. Paddy's dinner - (Oven Steamed Corned beef and garlic roasted red potatoes) Best St. Patrick's meal we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I found this dish pretty bland. I used apple cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar, and I used 2 apples instead of 3 based on previous reviews. If I make it again I will try it with 3 apples and cut them in to smaller bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States