Fried Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
As others had suggested, I used granny smith apples, this recipe is delicious! I was really scared of that first bite, u could think u would taste the vinegar but you don't at all, the apples give this a nice bite. Great side dish, i'll be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I loved this, hubs not as much. But I love sauerkraut and cabbage soups, etc. so this was right up my alley. Couldn't be easier. And almost turns out like a warm sauerkraut. I added a bit of onion, garlic powder and pinch of red pepper flake. This was the cabbage dish I served with my re-done St. Paddy's dinner - (Oven Steamed Corned beef and garlic roasted red potatoes) Best St. Patrick's meal we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I found this dish pretty bland. I used apple cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar, and I used 2 apples instead of 3 based on previous reviews. If I make it again I will try it with 3 apples and cut them in to smaller bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This went well with us today. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar and left out the apples by choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Barnum, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I just harvested a large amount of cabbage from my garden and was looking for something different but quick. This was delish! I served this with slices of pork tenderloin on top and it was a great pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I omitted the apples all together and substituted EVOO for butter. I liked the addition of the brown sugar. This is a good recipe with a few tweaks here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this recipe as directed. This is a very good recipe for using left over shredded cabbage. Not to sweet, or sour. Thumbs up from the wife and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hamm
Living In: Edgewater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I made no changes to this recipe except I used coleslaw mix for out-of-the-bag convenience. I thought it was a perfect side dish for BBQ pork sandwiches, and a quick way to serve both fruit and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I prefer olive oil to the butter. Just as good, more heart healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States