Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Recipe was perfect as is and I did not change a thing with the batter. I did let shrinp set in fridge until slightly chilled before dipping in batter the 2nd time. For comparison I also made part of the batch using Panko for the second dip and felt that they turned out too too crispy/crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Well just made this tonight and rated it a 5! I had never made fried shrimp before at home.. I had to substitute flour for the bread crumbs due to I was all out and so I added 1 teaspoon of baking soda to the flour, I added seasoning to my flour, adobo, garlic salt, garlic powder pepper and rosemary just threw in about a teaspoon of each but the batter although I halved was amazing and this was the lightest fluffiest batter almost like between tempura and a batter.. everyone loved it and asked me to make it again tomorrow haha thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Barrett-Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I must say that I have tried a couple of recipes from this site and they were great. This fried shrimp recipe is a keeper. Well I scaled the water down and it was still to much. I also double breaded the shrimp and it was extra crispy, can't remember who it was but they said to use panko bread crumbs. I did I breaded with regular italian bread crumbs dropped the shrimp back in the egg wash and then dredged them in the panko. THEY WERE AWESOME. Nice a crispy just the way fried shrimp shoukd be. Thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Like the others I reduced the water by half. Otherwise it is the perfect fried shrimp recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Great batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Used raw shrimp and these were perfect. Cut in 1/2 thru cooking process to make sure they were done. Great with crab cakes and onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Tried for the first time , friends could not stop commenting that the taste is even better than the prawns prepared in a seafood restaurant.Did not change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love this recipe, I did cut down on the water using only 1 cup, and I used seasoned bread crumbs. My picky kids ate every last one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
The only reason this gets 4 stars is because the liquid stated in the recipe is a bit too much. I reduced it and only used 1C of water and 3/4C of cornstarch. I also used panko breadcrumbs instead of regular--there was also no need to double dip/coat the shrimp, they came out nicely coated the first time. Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe, love the taste. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States