Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
If it is on the menu, my husband usually orders shrimp when we go out to eat. I made this cutting the water and corn starch each by half and adding Tony Chachere's creole seasoning to the crumbs and he said "This is delicious, it's one of those things you would remember in a restaurant that would make you want to go back there." He was still talking about these the next day! Used Panko crumbs but ran out so switched to Progresso bread crumbs for subsequent batches. Also followed the advice of letting them dry out a bit between washings so that the breading from the first go round didn't wash off. I will definitely make these again. This was the first time I had fried shrimp and next time will go for bigger ones. These ended up like popcorn shrimp so it was lots more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Restaurant style for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These were great. I use Panko Bread Crumbs and they came out perfect. My son has asked me to make these for his bday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by insanemomof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I prepared this recipe for our Thanksgiving dinner as an appitizer. These shrimp were "gobbled" up in 2 mintres!!! The only changes I made was to use less water. I prepared them using 1 & 1/2 cups of water and 2 cups of cornstarch. I also used Panko bread crumbs for the secoond dip. Excellent dish and fun to serve. Thank you Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These are, without question, the best fried shrimp EVER! I followed the recipe as written with one small revision...I used panko break crumbs for the second coating. CRISPY & DELICIOUS. I made 2 lbs. for just me and my husband, and we ate all of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecatlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
It's kinda hard to screw up fried shrimp but I really enjoyed this recipe. The breading is very durable and does not crumble as soon as you dip it whatever you dip it in. You can get away with half of the ingredients for the wash and I added about 1/4 cup of flour and some seasoning (garlic powder and black pepper to the bread crumbs. Make ya wanna smack your mamma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uncle fester
Home Town: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Awesome, very good..also made them a 2nd time with gluten-free panko bread crumbs and they were a huge hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Hands down, the most elegant, scrumptious, delectable fried shrimp I have ever eaten. Mine came out as beautiful as the photo too. Tips: 1) Cut water and cornstarch in half (everything else is fine); you will have a somewhat watery dip but a too-thick dip means you end up with too much breading and too little taste of the shrimp; 2) Double-dipping is a preferred method, as it creates the perfect amount of light/thin crunch; 3) Panko crumbs create the lightest, crispiest breading around. I seasoned mine with a sparse amount of fish rub; 4) If you are using frozen shrimp, run tepid water over them about 60 seconds. This will leave them semifrozen. It is far easier to make the butterfly cut when they're semifrozen instead of fully defrosted. I made a Thai chili/yogurt dip like that served in fine restaurants. I can't believe that these restaurant-quality fried shrimp were created in my own kitchen. Thank you Joy for this marvelous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This should be wonderful using Panko breadcrumbs! I can hardly wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
These were very delicious when I made them about a week ago and my husband keeps asking when I am going to make them again, guess what I am making for dinner tonight. Can't wait to eat them. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States