Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Cut corn stach mixture in half at least. Very good and easy. Not too much coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is very good. My husband thought I bought the shrimps from a restaurant. I used 1 ½ cups of water and 2 cups of cornstarch per other reviewer and that was too much for 1lb of shrimps. Next time I will use ¾ cup of water and 1 cup of cornstarch. I added salt & garlic powder into the panko crumb. I did the second coat of the wash and crumb after I finished all the first coat of the shrimps to give time for the crumb to dry up. I also refrigerated the shrimps for half hour to help the breading stick on the shrimps when they are frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight. We didn't like it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
very good & easy recipe - I used the advice of using panko crumbs and 1/2 the water and cornstartch. will make this many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious. About a quarter of the wash is plenty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
great recipe, i added garlic powder to the bread crumbs. very easyband tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani_D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
If it is on the menu, my husband usually orders shrimp when we go out to eat. I made this cutting the water and corn starch each by half and adding Tony Chachere's creole seasoning to the crumbs and he said "This is delicious, it's one of those things you would remember in a restaurant that would make you want to go back there." He was still talking about these the next day! Used Panko crumbs but ran out so switched to Progresso bread crumbs for subsequent batches. Also followed the advice of letting them dry out a bit between washings so that the breading from the first go round didn't wash off. I will definitely make these again. This was the first time I had fried shrimp and next time will go for bigger ones. These ended up like popcorn shrimp so it was lots more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Restaurant style for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These were great. I use Panko Bread Crumbs and they came out perfect. My son has asked me to make these for his bday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by insanemomof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I prepared this recipe for our Thanksgiving dinner as an appitizer. These shrimp were "gobbled" up in 2 mintres!!! The only changes I made was to use less water. I prepared them using 1 & 1/2 cups of water and 2 cups of cornstarch. I also used Panko bread crumbs for the secoond dip. Excellent dish and fun to serve. Thank you Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States